Double Cheesy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was verrrrrry rich! It tasted great and was a good complement to my pork chops. I had enough for two days after! Not for those with small bellies. My only change was adding a bit more seasoning to the potato layers and sprinkling with basil and parsley to top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Letohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
i followed the recipe perfectly; it turned out that the potatoes were swimming in whipping cream with shredded cheese and that was it. my boyfriend wouldnt eat it because it was still very soupy and it was like eating straight up whipping cream potatoe soup. it had nice flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
DELISH!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a good base recipe. The cooking time was about an hour off for me. I had to cook for 2 hours to get a good consistency and tender potatoes Also it needs a little more seasoning. I added some cajun seasoning, salt and pepper. I added about a teaspoon of minced garlic and an onion. After it was done, I shredded sharp cheese and fresh Parmesean. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I love this recipe and have made a version of it with ham for years. For some reason it never crossed my mind to put cheese in it. I will say that I read all the reviews and did put cheese in the middle because my men LOVE cheese in everything. One thing different is that I use seasoned salt in mine and layered it along with the potatoes and now cheese. For Stinalynn heavy whipping cream can be oily when baking. I have substituted milk when I was short on cream and I noticed the difference in the oily top. There was much less. So I added the seasoned salt and garlic powder along with extra cheese...mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nropen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Beloit, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
not sure, think I may have done something wrong, but mine turned out very greasy/oily, maybe from the parm cheese? not sure, but gave it 3 stars, was still good, just had to wring it out first LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is the best scalloped potato recipe I have tried. I had to use up a bag of frozen sliced potatoes so I used it with this recipe. So good. I didn't have that much cream but it was still delish. I added more parm and less cheddar. The parmesan on top made a great little crust. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Not so wild about this. Taste was decent, but the cream pretty much curdles (as it does in many recipes like this) so it's not a pretty dish to serve. I did add lots of fresh minced garlic and thinly sliced onions. I think it would be horribly bland without it because it was still pretty bland. Doubled the recipe and cooked 2 1/2 hours. Potato lovers will still like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Best Au Gratin potatoes I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States