Double Cheesy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These need help! I foresaw them not having a super-powerful punch of flavor, so I minced garlic and onion and sprinkled it between potato layers. I also added Parmesan and cheddar and S&P between the layers as well. When I pulled the potatoes from the oven, the heavy cream looked a little curdled. Even with adjustments, I wasn't impressed. These were definitely rich, but flavor was lacking. Sorry, I wanted to love them but didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These were a disaster for me. I used a 3 qt dish & it was full. After 3 hrs & 10 min the potatoes were still on the crunchy side. I then microwaved them for 15 min(& they boiled all over the microwave) & they were still not completly done. They ended up being a giant curdly uncooked mess. If you could get past the cottage cheese texture, the flavor wasn't bad, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I scaled this back to suit two people tonight using russet potatoes. I also used half-n- half milk with a pad of butter. Preparing this was easy as was baking it in the oven. I seasoned the potatoes with black pepper and Hawaiian sea salt; layered the potatoes with more fresh shredded parmesan and less sharp cheddar cheese in the gratin dish and then poured the cream over the top. I placed the butter on top and baked as recipe instructed for one hour. This turned out to be a nice rich sauce with cheesy potatoes! This is definitely not “diet” food but a great side dish for our ham tonight. I served this with, “Creamy Sweet Corn,” and “Glazed Ham,” also from this website. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I halved the recipe for 2. Added chopped white and green onion I had left from another dish as well as minced garlic salt and pepper on each layer of potatoes. Added a thin layer of shredded cheese in layers of potatoes. Mixed parmesan cheese and bread crumbs for topping. After an hour some of the potatoes were a little under done, but I hand sliced and I'm sure was not consistant on thickness of potatoes. Next time I'd add a little more cheddar cheese and pepper in layers of potatoes instead of on top. Enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Delicious with some modifications. I was concerned with the enormous fat/calorie content, so opted to use fat free half and half and cut down the quantity considerably (about 2 cups) Instead, I heated the half and half with a little butter and then added the cheddar cheese to make a sauce. Slowly cooked until thick. I made layers (potatoes, parm, repeat) and then poured the thickened sauce over. Topped with bread crumbs. Cooked at 375 for about an hour - topped with tinfoil for the first 40 min and removed for the remaining time to get the top layer a little more crunchy. Turned out pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This dish is absolutely amazing! It's quick and easy and great for family gatherings or just feeding a hungry bunch. The best thing is that you don't have to measure anything and you can use whatever cheeses you've got on hand. Just layer it up, bake, and serve. I've doubled the potatoes and cheese and cut the cream in half before and it still works! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I don't think you can go wrong with these ingredients. But I am sorry I had to scale it back. First off I did not need a full quart of cream, used under just 2 cups and about 1/2 cup chicken broth. Second, all I needed to do is layer this, add potatoes sprinkle with parm and butter, some cream and broth and dot with butter, sprinkle with cheddar and repeat layers, I had 3 layers. This is so good I used a mandolin to get potatoes really thin. I will be making this again and again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I was unsure from the start but it got some good reviews so figured I'd give it a shot. I knew that the potatoes wouldn't cook in the alloted time but still went forward as indicated from recipe. They cooked an hour at 375 and an extra half our after travel to dinner and the potatoes were totally hard. Cooked them for about another hour at about 375 but it was too late for dinner I'll try the leftovers but I'll stick with my tried and true recipe next time (good thing is that I cooked those too and kept these as a side experiment!). If I ever try again, I'll boil the potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Easy and cheesy. Big hit with ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is obviously NOT an everyday side dish...BUT our favorite 'every now and then' potato. I use garlic salt instead of sea salt, for a little extra flavor. And also add sharp cheddar cheese in my layers...and it turns out perfect! I have gotten nothing but RAVE reviews from this recipe...worth trying!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States