Double Cheesy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Easy to reduce recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Taste was good, but SOOOO soupy! Next time I will cut down on the liquid. Even Velveeta added in didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
well,so far,I have had these cooking on 450 for over an hr and they are STILL hard and crunchy....my husband is waiting on my potatoes to finish so that he can bring in the food frm the grill...guess we will just have meat tonight ;( very dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cplccb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
These are a nice creamy comfort food but my family prefers the onion diced instead of the whole ring in the sauce. Other than that it's a winner. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I make this without the cheddar; adding horseradish & an apple; & different directions. So high in fat, but everyone likes it. 'Mix together & pour over the potatoes (& a peeled, sliced granny smith apple in the middle layer): 3 1/2c heavy cream, 1/3c horseradish (not to worry, it mellows as it cooks :D), 1/2t salt & 1/2t freshly ground pepper. I place a sheet of foil loosely over a 9x13 then remove it after half an hour. Bake another half hour & then add the parmesan on top while the oven is off, but hot. No stirring. Let it sit in the oven ten minutes or even longer to thicken. Oh, yeah, I bake mine at 400. If I were using a casserole dish, I'd probably go for 350; but I don't know if they'd be as good without sitting in the cream completely as they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
One word, Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
easy? yes... tasty? not bad, but not great. A little soupy actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This was okay made as is but it is bland. My kids liked it, but my husband didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catbrowning
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
not sure if I should review since I didn't follow "exactly" I read all the reviews and did as some others suggested with the pats of butter and layering. I do have to say the flavors were great and I will make again b/c of the flavors. I didn't think it was as rich as others were saying. I didn't use the whole quart of heavy cream b/c my 3 qt dish would have overflown while baking. I think next time I will try to mix the cream and cheeses to make more of a sauce to use so the potatoes don't break apart after cooking and then stirring. I also added onion powder and garlic powder prior to cooking. Maybe I should have just followed the recipe as is and it would have turned out better? thanks for sharing though. always love trying new recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
excellent, but rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States