Double Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Well, with A LOT of doctoring, this recipe turned out great! First, I made a much yummier sauce then this recipe called for. I used Sun Dried Tomatoe sauce, and garlic tomatoe paste, a little brown sugar, some hot sauce, lots of garlic, ect. I didn't mix all the cheeses/sour cream in to the meat mixture because that sounded a little yucky to me. Instead I assembled it like you would lasagna, with a layer of the cheese mixture all on it's own. So, for that I didn't actually measure the cheeses or sour cream. Just threw what I thought would be good in a bowl and stired it up. I also added half each of a yellow and red pepper, and about 1 cup of grated aged cheddar cheese. I then, in a greased casserole dish, put half the noodles, all the cheese mixture, half the meat sauce, remaining noodles, remaining meat suuce, and finally topped it all off with some more grated cheddar and a sprinkle of parm. Yumm!!! Loved this, at least the way I made it. It's a great idea, just play with it to make it the likes of your family. Thanx for this great idea though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I am mother to the two most picky eaters and they loved this dish!!! I made only minor adjustments. I pre-seasoned the beef with pepper, lowery's seasoning salt, and garlic powder. Then before popping it in the oven I added 2c. mozzarella cheese 1c. stirred in 1c. on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Speaking as Dad who picks-up the kids and makes dinner for Mom when she gets home this was an easy meal to make. It even passed the finicky 5 year-old test. You may want to add some spices to give it flavor, all that cream cheese, cottage cheese, and sour cream can be bland for some tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Easy to make, but definitely needs some spice - I'm going to try it again with alittle cayenne in the beef...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Very yummy. My whole family loved it from my four year old to my husband. I did need to add spices, and I added chedder cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
My kids love it when they see that this is for dinner. My husband and I like a little more flavor in our food. But it's a very accessible dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stroupc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
Very easy and cheep. Kinda taste like hambuger helper. I added a can of diced tomatos with onion and garlic. Also put in some green onions.. It made all the difference. Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
This was very easy, but quite bland. I substituted picante sauce for tomato sauce. It needs to be covered in the oven to keep noodles from becoming dry. Needs some spices and maybe some cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This was a very simple and easy to make dish. Next time I might use less sour cream and a few more spices. Great for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
Very quick and easy. I put some munster cheese on top just before removing from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States