Dosas (Indian-style Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
These were so good and they can be made with what you have on hand! I left out the turmeric because I didn't have any. I also halved the water and flour because I wanted more vegetable and seasoning, but it would have been good as written also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This should be named Spiced Crepes instead of Dosa. Dosa is a thin crisp crepe made with well ferrmented Lentils and Rice Mixture - after soaking and grinding them in a paste and adding a bacterial culture (live yougurt) for fermentation. When Dosa is made into a thick crepe, it can be topped with chopped fresh toppings (onions, tomatoes, green chilies, capsicums, dessicated coconut, corriander etc.) to make a Uttapam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
The recipe is not that hard,i am an indian and i have seen how my mom does it,dont add to much water,the batter looses its flavor and Adding the onion, garlic, cilantro, sugar, turmeric, cumin, mustard seeds, cumin seeds, coriander, ginger, cayenne pepper and rice vinegar are NOT NEEDED!it will become uthappam(another southindian dish)not dosa.before pouring the batter on the pan take a half onion and rub it on the surface of the pan.mix the batter well before pouring it.Pour thick in the center and use a ladle and spread it from the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dranzerhilary
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This didn't work for me at all. Apart from adding a little salt, I made them as written. I left them overnight, and the batter got extremely thick so I stirred in a bit of milk. I found it extremely difficult to get them thin, and they broke apart when I turned them over. They tasted ok-ish, but they were really unappetizing-looking. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Delicious savory crepes. I do not use wheat but I found Dosa Flour (a blend of rice and bean fours) at a local East Indian market. Best eaten fresh out of the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These were really bitter and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
The spices and vegetables were really tasty, but the recipe could have used some salt. I thinned the batter even more with some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tt2b123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I have made this recipe a couple of times and they are simply delicious! My daughter has even asked for the recipe and they are now very popular with her friends at university. I served these with an Indian curry and pilau rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States