Dorsey's Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Total disappointment. They were just mush with no crunch to breading at all. Won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I had a jar of oysters left from Thanksgiving, plus I Love fried oysters! These were Terrific! I added a seasoned flour mixture to panko crumbs. I grow my own Mexican limes and they were the finishing touch on a yummy appy! Thank You Dorsey, I won't soon forget these:)) I'll be sure to buy an extra jar next year too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I just finished my fried oysters BUT I did an extra step and rolled them in plain flour after taking them out of the batter....turned out so much better than the first batch which I took directly out of the batter and fried, not so good, much better with the extra step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great recipe! Turned out perfectly. Lightly fried without losing the integrity of the oyster. Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Pretty good. Easy batter to make. I used this for the ones too big to eat raw. The batter made them sweet, but still too dang big to eat once they're fried. Note to self: big oysters need a po' boy bun and some fixin's. I'll let them cook longer next time. I don't think you can easily overcook an oyster. Lots of juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I like mine very crispy, so after removing from the batter, I dredged them in a mixture of panko and mashed potato flakes. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Never did oysters in my life BUT this recipe mad it so easy and I will use it again. I would have taken a photo but I ate them all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
i used this recipe after my wife said her's never comes out right, she enjoyed it as much as myself,good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Never fried oysters this way--loved by the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Hensley Lockhart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The only thing that this batter stuck to is the bottom of my cast iron pot. Would not ever try this one again, and taking it out of my recipe box. Thanks for reading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coldspring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States