Dorsey's Fish & Oyster House Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
These were decent, I think that I will keep looking for that incredible recipe, but the family ate it and didn't complain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Heikkinen Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My family absolutely loves these crab cakes. As fast as I make them they disappear. I use a mix of Dungeness and Rock crab as I live in the PNW. This recipe compliments the unique taste that Dungeness crab has, and doesn't mask the flavor of the crab. I also either try to cook the in sea water or in home made salt water as well as cook them whole to preserve a richer flavor, I find that if I cook them already cleaned the crab meat can turn out bland even when cooked in sea water. A very useful way to take care of any left-over crab or fish (not a frequent happening in my house). I have tried variations by adding less Old Bay Seasoning(as we rarely use it with seafood), and I use Kraft yellow mustard. A forever favorite of my family, and will always be well used in crabbing season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I've made these crab cakes a couple of times now and they're always a hit! They are easy to make and taste great. I've fried them, but like them better when I bake them. Just spray a little cooking spray and pop them in the oven and they come out just as if you fried them. I also made great appetizers with these by using wonton wrappers in a mini muffin pan and putting the crab cakes in them. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
These were so tasty, but hard to keep together. Made small ones as appetizers. Used half real crab and half fake stuff. Fajke crab makes them sweeter and cuts the cost a lot. Will make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIALAW
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I used king crab legs for this recipe. The type mustard you use will affect the taste. I used stoned ground mustard. I also added some red onion. I would let this set for awhile before forming into patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIALAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
These are awesome: light, meaty and crispy all at once. I topped these with poached eggs and hollandaise sauce as a variation on eggs benedict. Best... dinner... ever...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
First time I tried to make crab cakes. Turned out great and the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I make this all the time. It will be a keeper in my house and past down to my daughters. To share for a life time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEASHELL271

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These were very good. I used less oil in the pan however. I used lump blue crab meat. Do not use crab in a can! These things flat out kill!! Great and simple! That's what makes them so good...simple ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I had never made crabcakes before. I had only had them at restaurants. I followed the recipe and they were declicious! I did however deep fry them not on the stove as directed in the recipe. Thank you for such an easy and wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSJ1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States