Dorsey's Fish & Oyster House Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I'm used to crab cakes with less filler (mostly just a little mayo, bread crumbs and some seasoning) but this was surprisingly good! Definitely recommend using good crab (not Fancy White) to ensure the best quality and ability to form into crab cakes. I also had to use some bread crumbs to hold it together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
The best crab cakes ever. If you pass this crab cake recipe up you are missing out!! Trust me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Used all ingredients, but drastically cut back on the oil. I've always used a recipe that has breadcrumbs, so using biscuit mix was a new twist. They turned out very good. Thanks, Dorsey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Best recipe yet! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
As we'd say here in Bahstahn, "WICKED GOOD!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Whitford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
sorry, just didn't love them. Too greasy and not a lot of flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
These were very good! Used a sweet chili Thai sauce and they were great! I agree they could use more flavor, but the sauce did the trick. I like that there was very little breading so you could really taste the crabmeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Just okay in my opinion. I guess maybe I like crabcakes with different veggies and a little more flavor. I did bake them in the oven, so maybe they are better fried? I'll try another recipe next time, but I will say that they are very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Granted, I used a combo of canned and good fake crab meat, but I'm poor - I can't afford a $50 meal. I make an awesome crab stuffed mushroom with the cheap stuff, so I thought I would give this a try. The consistency was good, but the flavor just didn't do it for me - they could have been better. They seemed to be lacking something, but I'm not sure what - maybe this recipe just really needs to be used with good, real crabmeat - I dunno. Sad to say, I will not be making this again - but only because I can't afford to make it "right".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
The recipe was delicious and very easy. It had very little filler and a lot of crab. However, I would try the baked method as others have indicated. I don't like frying in that much oil and I don't think they will hold together without it unless you bake. Regardless, the taste was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States