Doris's Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I made this for my culinary class to put on some cream puff shells and it was a big hit! I did add a little bit of mint, because it felt as if it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri_Whitepaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Really good base recipe. I made it as written and served it on hoagie rolls using a slotted spoon because it was runny. The citrus made it taste almost like ceviche, which I love. I followed another reviewer's suggestion of serving with diced avocado and some halved cherry tomatoes, which, if it had been in the original recipe, would've made it 5-stars. I also subbed tarragon for the dill and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
After reading all the reviews I cut the mayo in half, used green onions a dash of hot sauce and pinch of old bay and 1t of chopped fresh cilantro. It was a huge hit. I only use wild gulf shrimp. It makes a bug difference on flavor. If you use farmed the lemon will be overpowering as farmed raise have much less flavor. Brava Robin! I tip my hat to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is so good and versatile. I ate it by itself. I ate it on salad greens. My favorite use was as a topping for french bread with cheddar cheese on top and broiled. Just like in some fancy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
5 and five again! this time I'm really giving it a 5! A 5 I say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made a mistake when writing up this recipe. Use the bunch of celery. At least 6 stalks! Chop fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We enjoyed this recipe. I did add a pinch of "Old Bay". This will be my go to recipe for shrimp salad. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kay104kay
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was very good, I added bell peppers & old bay seasonings. It was colorful and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Nice, basic shrimp salad. What was different about this for me was simply gettting away from the ubiquitous dill and adding onion and lemon juice instead, something I never do. I've learned a little lemon juice is nice but I can do without the onion, and I didn't use nearly as much as called for! A little bit'll do ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I found this a bit bland, but don't really know what it needed. I should note that it might have been better had I not taken the lazy route and put the salad shrimp in frozen. As they thawed, the salad turned watery - my fault. Even done properly, tho, I think it needs something else. Good potential here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States