Doreen's Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I had to change a couple things on this because I did not have it, instead of sherry I used rice vinager, and I left out the garlic. I marinated for almost 24 hours, and the flavor was awesome. I also boiled down the left over marinade and drizzled a bit over the top of the flank steaks that I used. I am actually going to use the rest of the sauce as a salad dressing! My husband said like 5 times how much he liked it. Thank you for the recipe, I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was, by far, the best marinade for just a plain ol' steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
My family absolutely loves this marinade. My 10 year old daughter frequently requests steaks marinaded using this recipe. I usually double the recipe though and it completely covers 4 steaks in a 9 x 13 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I too changed a few things, brown sugar instead of honey, balsamic vinegar, chopped onions and garlic cloves, half veg. oil, half olive oil. Omitted Sherry altogether. Marinated a large 7lb-8lb eye of round roast overnight and flipped it over in the morning. Let it stand on counter til room temp. so it would cook evenly. Braised it all over on top of the stove, then Cooked at 375 degree oven at 20 mins. per pound. Put some Oil and water and Onions quartered in roaster and let it cook. I did not think I was going to like the roast because of the "smell" not sure if it was the soya sauce or ginger or both but it was awfully strong. Anyway, cooked it like I said, and to my AMAZEMENT it was Moist and juicy, and probably one of the BEST roasts I've ever cooked. For a cheap cut of meat, It very well could have been a Rump or Sirloin tip!!!!! This was my first time marinating a Roast of Beef and would definately recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
My fiance loved this -- he would give it 5 stars! I tried to make it a little less sweet -- the honey made it sweeter than I expected (next time I'll use a little less). Didn't have sherry so used rice wine vinegar; added dash of worcestershire sauce, 2 extra garlic cloves, and a few dashes of Tabasco. The rib eye that marinated for 10 hours was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe. It gives such a rich taste to steak. I made the recipe as stated, scaled down for a single serve. I marindaded for a good 24 hours. There was enough marinade at the end to make a glaze, this was perfect over steamed brocoli and baked potatoes. I used fillet beef today, but will definitely try it again with my favourite scotch fillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was excellent and easy. I would probably marinate overnight the next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is a great and easy marinade. Anytime we bbq steaks, my husband always asks for "Doreen's Steak Marinade". My kids love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Excellent marinade! Lots of flavor! We will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
My husband and I did not care for this - good thing we had steak sauce. sorry we did not like the flavor of this at all -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States