Dora's Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Lacked flavor. This cookie won't stand on its own. Desperately needs frosting to make it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLowe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
We made these cookies in a class at the senior community that I work at with much hesitations, "six cups of flour? We'll never be able to mix it [with arthritic hands]," and "I've never had success with rolled cookies." But guess what...we had success and everybody walked away feeling really good about the outcome! It truly is a perfect recipe for all ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I'm sorry but these were bad. My husband wouldn't even eat them. If I had to describe it, they tasted like baked homemade play dough without the salt. I used butter flavored crisco not margarine. They tasted like flour. I'm really surprised how many people rated these so high! Maybe I did something wrong but I have baked alot of cookies so I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Im not sure what I did wrong, but my dough was very sticky. It did turn out to be a good tasting cookie. I used homemade buttercream icing for a nice finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eydie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My hubby really loved this recipe, and ate a third of my cookies before I even could ice them. I topped them with Caramel Frosting V from this site. I will make this recipe again, every Christmas, and Halloween.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is the first rating I've ever provided because I've been making these cookies for over 5 yrs and everyone loves them! The only adjustments is that I don't add the almond (too strong) and I cut back on the milk because it makes it too sticky. Also, if you don't want to be making/decorating cookies all day, cut the recipe in 1/2 and it still makes plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I followed everything exactly and my dough is too sticky to roll out. I cut the dough in half and rolled each half in wax paper in the fridge and I am hoping that tomorrow they will be workable because the dough tastes great. Just so far they are not working as cut outs. Maybe its because I am in Texas, and the weather is different? I dont know, so I will edit my review tomorrow if they turn out. For now they are 3 stars. If it was on taste alone I would give 5 stars though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadieroo83
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I was very disappointed. Too cakey and blah tasting. They puffed up as they baked and didn't retain their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I used margarine, not shortening, and doubled the vanilla and almond extract (based on some peoples suggestions). Perhaps that's what did the dough in. It was soo wet...gooey. There was no way I would be able to roll it out and cut shapes. I also didn't realize that the recipe was for so many cookies! - I made about 45 instead of 5 dozen. If I had made them thinner, maybe they would be less cake like. As it was, they were odd, and very thick and spongy. Not like a cookie at all...like tiny dense cakes, but not so tasty. They also lacked flavor...but I'm thinking this is because they have so little fat and sugar in them. Perhaps if you use shortening, not margarine, and don't change the recipe, and make sure to get the cookies really really thin, they would be a good base if you had a really good frosting. I think I'll just stick to sugar cookies, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
They were awesome, everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States