Dora's Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I was very dissapointed because I was going to add this WONDERFUL COOKIE RECIPE to the site to finally share with everyone else. This recipe has also been in my family for years...I have very fond memories and specific memories of when we frosted the cookies that I'd licked my fingers so much that I felt sick. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE COOKIES and they do taste much better with icing/frosting. Definately addictive!!! I've tried a few other cut out cookies from this site and I'd have to say NO OTHER COMPARES!!! AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Amazing cookies! My 4 year old rolled and cut them himself. So easy! Very tastey even without frosting. I love this.. Thank You for the best cookie recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I meant to write a review last Christmas (2001) and completely forgot! As I prepare for baking this year, wanted to say this recipe is Awesome! I made these cookies for gift baskets and everyone went nuts over them. Though I'm in my 40's I enjoyed the whole process of rolling, baking, and frosting. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
These make a great sugar cookie, they are more cakelike than crisp, which I prefer. They make a nice fat cookie, easy to decorate, and don't break easy. I used Royal Icing to decorate them. The almond and vanilla extract give it a nice old-fashioned flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Simply the best sugar cookies recipe I have ever come across. Cookies melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I don't know if I did something wrong, but we did not like these at all. The icing that I used also had almond extract in it, and thats the only flavor that was in the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
This the best christmas cookie recipe I have used in years. They were quick and easy to make, and most of all there was no sticking to the cookie cutters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Recipie was easy to follow and cookies were easy to roll without being chilled. I used 3 teaspoons of vanilla, no almond extract. Baked at 350 for 9 minutes. Cookies came out looking perfect, still lacked a lot of flavor, needed to be iced, but because we rolled them semi-thick they did look perfect as cut-outs. With icing these are very good. I would suggest using 4 tablespoons of vanilla or at least 3 with maybe a little zest or orange or lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
These cookies are awesome. No on in my family can bake so two years ago I took it upon myself to do Christmas cookies for everyone and these are it. I use butter instead of shortening and they are the classic, can't get enough of them, buttery Christmas cookies. I also use the "Decorator Frosting" recipe submitted by P. Oakes which is just wonderful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Made these at a cookie baking party. A group favorite! Easy to handle dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States