Dora's Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Made this for Christmas cookies this year and this is such a good cookie. Thanks for sharing this will be my new sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Awesome!!!! This is the one!!! It's that true traditional Christmas cookie flavor with both almond and vanilla extract. Usually, it's hard to find a cut out cookie where the cookie and frosting combo don't create a complete sugar overload. Use these cookies with the Decorator Frosting on this site for the right balance of sweet and savory!!! Also, either roll them out thin or bake longer, as the resulting crunchiness is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I do have to admit that this was the first time I have made homemade christmas cookies, although I have a great love for baking, I've just never done it...(now have a 2 year old, thought it would be fun) Boy was I in for a surprise, I followed the recipe exactly, the dough was very sticky, had to use a lot of flour just to roll it out, that may have been a mistake. The cookies did not turn out very well, hardly any were eaten. Not sure if I will attempt again next year, maybe a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
i must have done something wrong as they were tasteless and a little tough. I am not the worlds best baker so probably used too much flour when rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Griggs Reuter
Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These cookies are absolutely delicious! The dough was a bit sticky when I was ready to roll it out, so I kneaded in some extra flour, until it was the right consistency. I will definitely be making these year after year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I can't believe how wonderful this recipe was. I used it with my three little girls who rolled and rolled the dough out, and it never got sticky. The cookies baked beautifully and tasted great. The only thing I changed was the almond extract because I didn't have any. I just used vanilla. Thank you so much for sharing this. This will be our "recipe" to go to every Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Carrier Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe is really good. The cookies have a subtle flavour that comes out at first, and then with every bite it comes out more and more. My husband helped me with the baking and he decided to put sugar crystals and sprinkles right into the dough mix when we were rolling it out, and it actually turned out really good!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I have been making these cookies every single Christmas since 2003 (I just had a look at my printout dated 2003!) and they are THE best Christmas cookies. My niece even calls them my "world famous" cookies and she now requests her own batch. They are great with or without icing - I use a royal icing glaze and then a dash of sprinkles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was a hassle free recipe that created a dough that was super-easy to work with. I especially liked that I didn't have to refrigerate the dough in order to work with it. I used my stand-mixer so it was easy to add the flour and milk alternately. Even my two year old had a great time making cookies that actually looked like they were supposed to! They tasted like traditional sugar cookies and were fantastic once iced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyBee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Made these at a cookie baking party. A group favorite! Easy to handle dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States