Donut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These muffins were awesome! I followed this recipe to a T and had no problems! One thing I found out was, after tasting the batter that this was not gonna be enough for our family! But, no problem... I went right ahead and made another batch! These were so good! I will make them again and again!! :) Thanks Dianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made these for hubby. He likes stuff like this- I don't. He tried one and loved it. Then I tried one. They are very good. I used a brand new mini muffin tray, cooked for 17 minutes and they turned out quite dark (as compared to the photos). I have an thermometer in my oven and baked them at exactly 375. They were crispy on the outside and soft and delicious on the inside. They are so tasty and cute. They would be great to serve at a shower, brunch or any tea party type event. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Absolutely 5 stars plus! I made these before and I am so glad to see they were approved. These are an easy and fast way to make "donuts." The nutmeg adds the perfect touch. I highly suggest making a double batch--that's how good they are. My little guy gobbled them up and asked for more. I can't decide whether I liked them better hot or after sitting for a while, because both ways they were perfect. Thanks Diane for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Wonderful recipe that's a cross between a mini muffin and a donut hole! Simple, delicious, sweet little treats that are kinda like a potato chip - I dare you to eat just one..... With that in mind the only thing I would do differently next time is to double or triple the recipe because these don't last long. I sprayed a little Pam for baking in the bottom of my mini-muffin cups so they'd pop right out. I can't wait to make these with my niece as this is definitely a kid friendly recipe. Thanks Dianne! Update: Like others, I did get a little more than twelve out of one batch but I was so busy popping these little goodies in my mouth I didn't notice the discrepancy. And at any rate, you just can't get enough of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
734 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I made these the day before the Recipe Group voted on them for their weekly recipe, but I failed to take a picture. I thought about making them again and taking a picture, but I really can't. They are too addictive! I would eat the whole batch...by myself! Since I am on a diet right now, I just can't afford it. Just remember, I warned you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Wow. People were not kidding-- I made a batch yesterday to take to a meeting and they disappeared. Had to make another batch today just for me! These are ridiculously good and simple to make, which is a huge bonus. I substituted whole wheat flour (cause it was all I had) and almond milk (cause I'm vegan). I had the best of intentions to eat just one. but they're so good I had to cut myself off at four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
These were a snap to make and very yummy. I did have an issue with them sticking in the pan, so may try using the paper liners next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Oh my word are these amazing! I would give ten stars if I could. They taste just like little sugared donuts, but without all the guilt. I made these as written, but chose just to coat the tops with the margarine and sugar mixture, so I reduced the cinnamon and sugar topping by half. There was still some left over, so I'll just save it to use on the next batch, which I think I'll just make right now. Make sure you spray the pans well and they will pop out very easily. Dianne, this recipe is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Such neat little treats! If you can't make it to your local apple orchard for cider and donuts, this is the next best thing. They are super easy and the ingredients are always on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I'm curious about a couple of things about this recipe. First, why did I end up with 24, not 12, of these mini muffins as the recipe indicates? Could it be an AR misprint? Mine is a standard, mini-muffin tin. Second, I really don't like nutmeg much. So WHY do I LOVE these muffins?! And why can't I stop popping them in my mouth? Don't kid yourself by thinking that because they're small you won't eat as much. You'll just eat more of them. And making them in the mini muffin tins was GENIUS, Dianne! That way you get more of that buttery, cinnamony sweetness in every bite! I did make a couple of modifications, but nothing that would significantly alter the recipe. I used butter instead of margarine and, because I have an entire quart of buttermilk to use, I subbed buttermilk for the milk. This worked beautifully, but please note that if you do that you MUST add 1/2 tsp. baking soda and eliminate the baking powder to adjust the acidity and make them rise properly! Plus they're so darned pretty I could just eat them up! (And I already did, with five of them) Your recipe is a beauty, Dianne! ~A hopefully helpful update: because of my curiosity I did some shopping around to learn that the sizes of mini-muffin tins varies, sometimes significantly! This explains the variance in yield with this recipe, to anywhere from 12 to 24 of these little muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1090 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States