Donut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I followed the recipes as directed, just added a splash of vanilla...DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Muffins were very dry. The recipe should be re-worked, perhaps using sour cream. Way too much topping, I cut it in half. Not as spicy as real doughnuts, maybe the types of spice and the amounts should be re-jiggered as well. Recipe made 11 full-sized muffins and they slid easily out of the muffin tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Made several batches of these for Easter brunch. Taste tested while they were still warm and had to resist the urge to eat several (dozen) more. They are SO GOOD. The only change to the muffin recipe I made was to reduce the nutmeg to 1/2 teaspoon because I find nutmeg to be overpowering. For the last step, I melted butter and used a grill brush to brush it onto the muffins and then dropped them into a large ziploc bag with the 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon mixture and shook to coat. It was easy and mess free that way. That amount of cinnamon sugar easily coated 2 batches so the original recipe amount is definitely overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sydney Noel
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I rate it 5 stars! But it should say margine OR butter! I used butter and they were great. Also I baked them for 15 minutes instead of 20. Great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I used butter and it was fine. They're best warm and fresh but also work well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Willow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is a delicious recipe but don't make the same mistake I did. After reading one review I decided I too wanted to use buttermilk and have them taste more like my home made donuts. So as suggested, I eliminated the baking powder and used baking soda. I could not get them out of the muffin tins! I threw the first batch away because all I had were crumbs left from digging them out of the pans. (yes, I did grease the pans!) I even tried some in a regular sized muffin tin, but had the same bad luck in getting them out. I tried loosening them around the edges, I tried letting them cool. Nothing worked! Had I used papers I would not have had this problem, but I suspect the muffins would have stuck to them as well. So I began again and used baking powder. They came out much better. I made a double batch and make a small cake and 6 regular muffins. I was so frustrated by this point that I didn't take the extra step of dipping in butter and then sugar. I just sprinkled a mix of cinnamon and sugar over the tops. They are good and worth making, but if you mess them up like I did, beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this recipe for a baby shower, and they are amazing! I can't believe how much they taste like a donut. Giving this recipe a shoutout on my Facebook page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zest to Impress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I doubled the recipe, put only 1 tsp of nutmeg in but all else kept the same. Did again and added vanilla and 1/4 tsp of salt and they were even better. thank you for this KEEPER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
So amazing! Everybody loved them and couldn't get enough. I made 24 and the next day had none left! Defiantly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Delicious! Immediately gone with onlly three grown men eating them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States