Donut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
It is very true to it's name. In taste and texture it is like a donut, in the shape of a muffin. I only gave it 4 stars because I didn't make the recipe as written, I would've given 4 1/2 if I could. For one, I only have large muffin tins, which yielded me 6 delicious muffins, though not that large at all... Second, for the cinnamon-sugar topping, as some suggested, I only did the tops. After removing from the oven I lightly spread margarine on the tops of the muffins with a spatula, then lightly sprinkled sugar, then cinnamon on top. Any more than that would've been too much! Also I did cut the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp, was plenty for me, and I wouldn't dare cut it out entirely, that is what made the taste so donuty (sp?) All in all it was different, but altogether a good, interesting recipe. I wish I had the mini muffin tins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
The taste was good, but the texture was off-putting for some reason, probably a mistake I made in preparation somehow. One comment I got was "Is this cinnamon cornbread?" I was so excited to make these because of all the positive reviews, so I am disappointed at my failure. Perhaps I will try again to see if they turn out better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
These were really yummy! Nothing like a sugar rush to start your morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
These were just ok - needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I made these using a double batch and used a regular 12 muffin pan and then still had enough to make about 6 mini muffins. For the large muffins I just did the tops with the butter and cinn & sugar mix. With the mini muffins, I did as instructed. I will say that the way it was written was way better and I did really like how they are just the right size to pop in your mouth! I really enjoyed these but my family weren't so receptive on them which is why I gave it just a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This recipe was amazing nothing I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SkierChick88
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Only way to make it better is to double it!! And pour up a couple glasses of milk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsey
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Everything about these were perfect! I only added some vanilla because, well, I love vanilla. These really did taste exactly like donut holes you'd get from the store, but I liked them way better! And so easy! And not time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Really good hot..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I would have LOVED this and given it 5 stars except I found I had to modify it slightly. My first batch yielded about 20 very small (1-bite) donuts. I filled mini muffin tins half way as instructed, cooked for 17 min @ 375 but found them to be a bit too crunchy and way too small. In the next batch I added a 1/2 tsp salt to the batter and filled the mini muffin tins almost all the way. This yielded about 16 total muffins. I also baked them for 15 in stead of 17 min and they're amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexisvac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States