Don't Chicken Out Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I changed the recipe tremendously, but it was a great inspiration! I did not give it 5 stars because I did not actually follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is a very easy, surprisingly easy way to prepare chicken (I used chicken quarters instead of just chicken legs because that's what I had available, and it worked out great). However, it needed a bunch of salt in the sauce because it lacks seasoning, and I will probably finish the legs with the sauce in the oven next time instead of cooking them on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I give this 5 stars because it's so simple and also very delicious. Even tastier the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Great recipe! The only things I did differently were to use 6 Cups tomato sauce, double the oregano, and omit the onions. We will make this again and again. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I did, in fact, chicken out. The sauce was too much like pasta sauce for me to risk putting it on top of the chicken. I ended up making a different gravy to coat and bake. However, my son did try it with the chicken and he gave it two thumbs up. I tasted it and it was good but as a pasta sauce base or chili base. It needed a LOT of spicing up. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Not quite sure what to say about this recipe. It did come out tangy but still bland. We added some roasted Anaheim chiles and used 1/2 tsp. ground cumin and 1/2 tsp. whole cumin. Not sure how much balsamic vinegar my guy put in. The sauce was much more flavorful 8 hours later after the spices had a chance to meld and assert themseves. We are going to use the rest of the chicken and sauce for enchiladas tonight. The flavors were not there in such a short cook time. Might try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
kind of bland - I basically just did it but used chicken breasts. Needs something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
My husband and I really liked this! I browned the chicken in hot chicken broth to cut down on calories. I also used one 26 ounce can of Hunt's garlic and herb spaghetti sauce and one 8 ounce can of plain tomato sauce. Next time I will add green peppers and mushrooms to the sauce and will use boneless skinless chicken leg meat instead of the legs because it would make it easier to eat. We had it over spaghetti. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Did it in the slow cooker. Ate with mashed potatoes. Browned chicken beforehand with cumin, salt and pepper. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
We loved it! Easy & fast to prepare and easy & fast to eat -- my children devoured it so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States