Don's Friend Tonja's Cousin Toni's Boyfriend's Grandmother's Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is really close to the one my mamaw made. But we separate the eggs and use wild turkey 101. It will cook the yolks, hence the pale yellow color. Then we beat the egg whites and the cream then fold everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Granny must have been a lush! I cut the likker in half and it was still strong!! Otherwise very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This recipe just okay, and not nearly as good as others that use only egg yolks. Try Betty's Famous or the Early American instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I find this very delicious. Have used it at parties for a few years now and guests like it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Alene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This has been a true favorite of ours. I started making this recipe in the latter part of 2009. We made this recipe at least five times throughout the Holidays last year. And we have never purchased store-bought eggnog again. Here is the Modification that we use: We use 8 eggs, 1 cup of Splenda and 1/2 cup of sugar or just 1-1/2 cup of sugar, 1 quart of 2 % milk, 1 pint of whipping cream into a large mixing bowl combining all of the ingredients. Pour the Half and Half into the 6-8 quart stock pot and bring to a slow simmer. Meanwhile, take 1 cup of hot Half and Half out of the stock pot and while using the mixer on the high setting gradually combine the hot Half and Half into the mixing bowl with the egg mixture. This process will temper the eggs before you add them back into the stock pot. After combining all of the mixing bowl contents into the stock pot, stir constantly on low for 40 to 45 minutes or until the mixture reaches 168-170 degrees on a candy thermometer. While the mixture cooks it will become thicker and will continue to temper and heat the eggs to safety. Add 2 teaspoons of pure Vanilla extract and nutmeg. Pour the mixture into a heat resistant pitcher and Chill overnight. Once chilled, stir in the Rum or a favorite liqueur. A very delicious treat for anytime of the year. Enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This eggnog recipe is just awesome! I made one alcoholic batch and one virgin batch and there was not a drop left at the end of our evening! I only used rum (two and a half cups) and no bourbon but it tasted fantastic. Everyone that had some said how light and easy to drink it was - not like store-bought eggnog that is very thick, heavy and sugary. This really is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Simple and yummy! I added Vanilla extract - about 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faith04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
With a few minor changes - this is my grandmothers recipe (passed in 1990).. which she got from her grandmother.. so yeah, its back when food was real - so to speak. Our family has had this every year that I remember.. raw eggs were never an issue(I think it’s the alcohol in it). If there is a worry- wash the shells gently before you open the egg. BTW - we add cinnamon, and use Amaretto (instead of bourbon or rum). This is a GREAT recipe - make sure to mix well before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
It is safer to heat 1/2 quart of the milk, slowly add the beaten eggs to that, and cook at med-low heat for 2-3 minutes. Strain this into the remaining 1 1/2 qta. of milk. Raw eggs can be a problem. Alternately, make sure the raw eggs being used are pasteurized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This sounds just like the recipe my aunt Shirley would make but not give us the recipe! Thanks! Her's was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States