Donna's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My cake fell as soon as I took it out of the oven, I was left with a greasy mess that tasted slightly like pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitesville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Donna, I just can't STOP making this wonderful Pound Cake! I absolutely love it. (Today, I tried adding the pineapple to the batter) and I did not like it. I have learned my lesson and will stick to your recipe. My friends and neighbors are already asking for it for Thanksgiving. It is moist, moist, and just perfect and let me not forget easy to make. I will keep close to you for more wonderful things to bake. Thanks a million!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very nice, dense, moist pound cake. I don't buy treat and desserts for my kids lunches so I'm always looking for something different that I can make and freeze or divide up between their lunches and desserts for home. This was excellent!! I hesitate to make "homemade" goodies with boxed mixes but I was in a hurry and this really didn't taste boxed when it was done. My daughter doesn't like lemon, so I substituted the lemon extract with orange and it was a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
WE LOVE THIS CAKE! I've made it using several different flavors of cake mix now, ALL MOST excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri Bolin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Duncanville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this using pineapple cake mix and rum; it took about 60 minutes to bake to my liking. Rich and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This cake was the result of a craving to bake but no supplies in the house. It certaintly filled that itch because it took 60 minutes, 60 Minutes!, in the oven. I like the dense texture and how it's less crumby like regular box mix. I added a squeezed lime and subsituted the sour cream for creamcheese along with a tad bit of water and it came out great, this recipe is definately part of the book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Not sure what happened, followed the directions to a "T" and the cake fell in the middle. The only thing different is I cooked it in a convection oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by momlovestocook
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Great cake! I left out the lemon extract and made two 9 inch rounds. They came out wonderful and I halved each round for a four layer cake, filled with cool whip mixed with vanilla pudding mix and fresh strawberries and blueberries, topped with blueberries and raspberries to make a flag cake for the 4th of July.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momlovestocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
A delicious and moist cake. I have made this cake three times. The last time I warmed a can of butter cream frosting ,stirring constantly,until somewhat thin and drizzled over cake. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Great cake for strawberries!! We loved it. We baked it in a 9x13 pan, the cake was really moist, flavorful, and the edges were crispy. The only thing was that I had to cover the top with aluminum foil when 10 minutes were left beacause it was getting really brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States