Donna's Nest Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I haven't tried it yet, but I certainly intend to. This sounds like a great way to simulate 'scotch eggs' that I can find only at our local renaissance fair. And no deep frying necessary! BTW, they serve them with a country gravy or cheese sauce. I like mine with whole seed mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Festie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Scotch eggs - baked not fried! These will be great for Easter morning. I had just under 1 lb of sausage and it cover 4 large eggs. For Easter I will buy small eggs. (make sure to age them so they peel easily) I used Shake n Bake for pork and it was perfect. The baking time was spot on. I did use a beaten egg to dip the sausage egg balls instead of milk. Tip: When forming the sausage into patties - use a bit of flour on your hands, it keeps the sausage from sticking to your hands and makes forming the sausage around the egg easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
These were delicious prepared and cooked exactly as written. I also made them using egg/water and then seasoned bread crumbs. Both ways were fantastic. I served them over wilted spinach and topped with a homemade chicken gravy for dinner. I just wish people would not rate until they've made the recipe. These are great and very easy to make. One pound bulk sausage and 1 cup bread crumbs were perfect for 4 extra large eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
We've never had anything like this before, but we all LOVED them! I used a 1# roll of Italian sausage and had no problem covering 6 large eggs. I cut the sausage into 6 pcs. and flattened each piece between waxed paper, which worked perfectly. Everyone was really surprised at how good these were...I wasn't sure hoe the little guy was gonna like them, but he ende up eating the most, lol...A definite repeat recipe~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
What a wonderful discovery. I have had Scotch eggs in pubs but the idea of frying these in oil left me hesitant to make these as a rgular treat at home. This recipe is terrific and I have made it three times in the last couple of weeks. Here are a few tips.....make sure your hard boiled eggs are cold and dry before you try to wrap them in sausage. Wet your hands to keep the sausage from sticking to your hands. I put about 1/4 lb of sausage in my damp palm and make a little nest to put my egg in and then form the sausage around the rest of the egg. I think 1 lb. of sausage is just right for 4 large eggs as Baking Nana mentioned in her review....so 2 lbs sausage for 8 eggs. The last time I made these, I forgot to dip the sausage wrapped eggs in milk before crumbs and we could not tell the difference without the milk step. In the future, I will skip that step entirely. I used chicken breakfast sausage to cut the fat too. I do not buy shake and bake but I used this recipe and reduced to 1/4 of the amount to make my own shake & bake with AR's recipe: Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture. (I used 1/2 cup Panko & 1/2 cup dry bread crumbs in my shake and bake for a crispier crust) Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter. I thought they must be mistaken that a whole pound of sausage only covers 6 eggs, but that was right on! My husband loved these and even my two year old ate the sausage covering off an egg. It might be too much to ask that he eat the egg too. Very well explained and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Fritz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Stumbled upon this wonderful recipe; just like the scotch eggs hubby and I used to order in a local "British" pub that has since closed. By accident I had the ingredients on had this morning for a hearty Saturday morning brunch...or so I thought. I had purchased Jimmy Dean hot pork sausage to make sausage balls next weekend for an adult Halloween party, but at a gathering last night I overheard the hostess saying she was making meatballs, so "Scotch Eggs" was a good use of pork sausage that I rarely buy. I don't typically buy Shake and Bake either, but had seen a recipe here for homemade, then discovered I had no breadcrumbs, or celery salt and nearly no Panko. I toasted some sliced sourdough bread, combined it with the little bit of Panko crumbs I had, seasoned it following the Shake and Bake recipe, and added some ground red pepper, ground coriander, poultry seasoning and extra garlic powder for more flavor. I used 4 left-over extra large hard-boiled eggs I had cooked earlier in the week for deviled eggs, and the whole pound of sausage. I had no problems molding the sausage to the eggs, but I did make sure the eggs were dry as another reviewer suggested, and I used an egg to dip into instead of milk. The baking time was perfect and my husband must have said how much he loved these six times during the meal and again while doing dishes. I over-did the red pepper for my taste, but he loves spicy-hot food, so he said not to change a thing and to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is just an overly simplified version of Scotch Eggs. The main difference is that this recipe is much less flavourful. Add more seasoning, chopped onions, and put through, flour then egg and milk and then roll in breadcrumbs. Deep fry or simply bake. Now that's a lot tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Used "hot" sausage and mixed up some Shake and Bake Mixture from this site. These were not even remotely bland, rather, loaded with flavor. Been a long time since I've made scotch eggs, and this was a treat. Served with Mustard Cream Sauce from AR's site, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I liked it, made my own breadcrumbs, skipped the milk, it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMcLellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States