Donna's Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This lasagna recipe is the only one I make. The only change I make is reducing the amount of sugar in the sauce by half. I get complimented on this every time and the leftovers never last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Very good. I add one 10oz. box of frozen chopped spinach with the meat mixture for more nutrition. Good way sneak in something green Moms. **Tip** for all Lasagna makers - no need to wash another pot to boil noodles. Soak raw, hard noodles in a large bowl of hot tap or boiling water for 30 min. Then layer as usual. Noodles won't be cooked, but will complete it's cooking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I have been using this recipe since 2004 with great success. I use Rao's marinara sauce and substitute half the cottage cheese with whole milk Ricotta. I use oven ready lasagna noodles dipped in boiling water for a few seconds. Finally, I use a combination of resh and regular mozzarella. Top of with marinara. These modifications have put this very good recipe over the top. Don't cheap out on the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Our new favorite lasagna recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This is the perfect lasagna. It makes a big, hearty, meaty, savory dish! It is rather time-consuming, but worth it. We froze the leftovers for future lunches. I added more herbs than the recipe called for, and I also used a full LB of sausage. I substituted a four cheese blend for the grated parm, which was a good choice as well. I always mix dried parsley into the cottage cheese mixture and large amounts of garlic powder ( this is just my preference). Definitely recommended. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
My husband was so impressed with this dish especially the sauce.Its saucy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Great recipe -- gets lots of compliments. OK, I cheated and just used spaghetti sauce, but it's still great. Not over-tomatoey, like a lot lasagna. I cut recipe in half, and still need 9 lasagna noodles -- just trim them for an 7X7 square baking dish. Oh, and used ricotta too instead of cottage cheese. This is *the* keeper of lasgana recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Really good stuff! Mom doesn't make this often, but when she does it's a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This is a great lasagna Kathy minus the salt. The cheeses and the sauce have plenty of it on their own. Hubby loved the fact that there was sausage mixed in with the beef. Although I love cottage cheese, I love ricotta even more, so that's what I used. I did need to add much more sauce than stated, but all in all, it was loved by the whole family. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Yummy! I followed the recipe but the sauce turned out too thick so I had to thin it with jar marinara sauce. Other than that, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States