Donna's Chocolate Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This zucchini bread has a great “fudginess” to it that’s really a pleasant change from the usual zucchini bread recipe. The modifications that I did to the recipe to lower the sugar & fat were; brought the sugar down to 1 1/3 cups along w/adding 2/3 cups natural applesauce which both sweetened the recipe & cut down on the fat needed! I also lowered the oil content to 1/2 cup & added 1/4 cup ground flaxseed. Instead of the chocolate squares, I used 6 Tablespoons of cocoa & threw in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. The bread came out so moist & delicious, there was no reason to add any glaze. The jury's still out on the almond slices...they were just “okay” but on the whole this was a fantastic recipe & I’m sure we'll make it many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxessence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I added a mashed banana and some oatmeal to the recipe. Made it into muffins for the kids' lunchboxes. It was a good way to hook some veggies into dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spirit Lake, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was delicious, I used 1/2 cup applesauce in place of 1/2 of the oil, used 6 heaping tbsps of cocoa + 1 tbsp oil instead of chocolate squares. Put 1/2 cup chocolate chips and in 1/2 of the batter I added 1/2 cup chopped almonds, therefore I had two varieties. Cooked at 350 for only 50 minutes. It was excellent, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Although this is a good standard bread, I found it to be dry. Even though I only cooked it for 50 minutes instead of the 60 called for. Maybe soem additional zucchini and less cook time might moisten it. The next time I will try it as a muffin recipe, it has a good basic flavor, just needs more moisture. The sugar glaze was a must, I used only a drizzle, perhaps more of a full covered "frosting" works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Great recipe! I wanted to make 2 full size loaf pans so I made 1.5 of this recipe and added more chocolate than called for. For a 1.5 batch I added 4 ounces of melted semisweet chocolate and about 1/4 cup coco powder. I also toasted the almonds for extra flavor and texture. The bread turned out perfect. Topped it off with a simple white glaze. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have lots of zucchini to use up. I halved the sugar and used cocoa powder/veg oil instead of bakers chocolate. Cooking time is a bit long, mine were done in about 40 min. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
yummy, i dont think it was dry at all as some others had commented. I did add a little more spice with cloves, all spice and a pinch more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
My bread turned out well. One change I made was that I traded the almonds for crushed walnuts. Because this calls for 2 loaves and I only have one pan, I cooked my first one to the time on the recipe and it burned on the edges. I cooked the second one for 45 minutes instead of 60 and it made a world of difference - it was not burned and more moist! I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKI101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Really yummy! I ommited the almonds and topped with a powdered sugar/vanilla glaze. Kids never knew they were eating zucchini. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Overall I thought this recipe was great, but I made a few adjustments when I made it. I used twice as much chocolate, substitued applesauce for half of the oil, and ommited the almonds. Even with the applesauce instead of the oil, it was still nice and moist. I think next time I make it, I am going to put chocolate chips in it and then it will definately be five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States