Donna's 123 Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This is the perfect sausage ball recipe. I use pioneer brand biscuit mix I just like it better than other brands. The only advice I would give is make sure your sausage is room temp. Mix the biscuit mix first until there is no mix left in the bottom of your bowl. Then add the cheese. Be patient it takes a little time but they are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dumas, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This recipe forget the milk. The milk changes it into dough and makes it much easier to form the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Warning: Don't use the super cheap sausage-they will be greasy and nasty. I used the Piggly Wiggly brand-the one that just says "sausage" and the balls were like goop when they came out of the oven. I've had success using Jimmy Dean hot sausage though. My husband can't get enough of these when I make them. They are super bad for you, so I only make them every once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
too much bisquick, that's all I could taste, not what I was looking for....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These sausage balls are not the ones I know and love. I am not sure why just yet. The ingredients are right, so it must be the proportions. Definitely seems skimpy on the cheese, not enough flavor, maybe needed more sausage too. On the positive side, I did add a splash of soy milk so that the dough was easier to work with and the consistency of the balls are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Loved this recipe. I like proportion of more biscuit and cheese, less sausage. Some say it is dry, but I think it is perfect. My mom adds a sprinkle of milk to make dough moist. No real difference. A great starter, breakfast, or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmcdlf1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I love it, this is MY recipe also, learned in junior high home ec, but if you add 1/3- 1/4 cup water, they turn out PERFECT. Ive taken them to work countless times over 12 years, and they ALL want to know the secret to keeping them moist....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This the same recipe my Aunt uses when she makes them. You can add more cheese too, if you like. She did once and they turned out fine. As the other person said let the sausage and cheese set for awhile out of the refrigerator and they won't be dry. My Aunt always said that when your kneading the ingredients, you know your done when it looks like a "brain" sitting in your bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
A little dry. I used jimmy dean sausage in one batch and vegetarian in the other. These are best served up with some apple butter. YUMMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This Recipe is very easy and very good! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiki's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States