Dominican Style Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I am a big fan of nutmeg, and was surprised that I had never tried adding it to my morning oatmeal. Since I am the only oatmeal eater in the house, I scaled this down to one serving. I probably used a little more than a pinch of nutmeg, and topped this with my usual raisins and walnuts. This turned out much creamier compared to using water to cook the oatmeal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. I usually boil my oatmeal in some water and a pinch of salt. Then, when it is done I top it with some milk and a little butter and sugar. I am always looking for new ways to try things. I cut the recipe in half to make 1 serving. I found it interesting that the oats were cooked in milk. I only had old fashioned oats, and not quick oats, and it didn't seem to be a problem. It is a tad more sweet then I like my oatmeal, but I can always adjust that next time. The added cinnamon and nutmeg was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! Followed the recipe to a tee. The kids and everyone loved it, even the baby! I added fresh fruit: blueberries, bananas, and diced peaches to this oatmeal and it was absolutely incredible! You will not be disappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
yummy....I did just what it said and I added a very ripe peach (skinned and diced) while it was cooking...peaches and cream! I always made oat meal with water (probably 'cause it's cheaper) and then in individual bowls added butter and milk, sugar....well cooking this way is much creamer and I feel uses less sugar because of the richness of the milk and no butter! I would make cream of wheat the same way with water until my husband cooked it in milk instead and added vanilla...well wow, the best cream of wheat ever...except a little to thick so sense then I've always made it half milk/ half water and it's perfect, a little splash of milk in the end is always nice too...and butter and sugar..... But this oatmeal is Delicious, I won't give up the other 100's of ways to cook OATS but I will make this often, I LOVE OATS all different ways. Thanks you for this simple, easy, deliciousness comforting way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This makes a really nice bowl of oatmeal, but I was expecting it to be a bit more liquidy than it turned out. It had a good consistency and good flavor, but I think both could be a bit better. Best homemade bowl of oatmeal I've ever made, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I do think this tastes better with a bit less sugar, but is great either way. I LOVE to make this because it's quick & easy to make and tastes AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. We loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Made this with regular oats and skim milk and no sugar. Took a little longer to cook, but had great results. Had a creamy consistency that reminds me of rice pudding. We topped it with brown sugar and fresh blueberries. No additional milk needed. Even my oatmeal hater liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I doubled this recipe for my two boys and I and I made this in my rice cooker. I used fat free evaporated milk instead of regular milk for a creamier texture. This oatmeal turned out perfectly. Very creamy with just the right amount of sweetness. Next time, I'll make this with a half cup of raisins thrown in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Extremely tasty and easy to make. It was very creamy, had a great consistency and the spices went together nicely. I've always made my oatmeal with water; after trying this recipe I don't think I'll ever make it with water again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutosta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States