Dolmas (Stuffed Grape Leaves) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Delicious! I added more pine nuts and currants and a little bit of fresh dill. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Thanks for this great recipe! I have grapes and really wanted a good dolma recipe. This is IT! I reduced the cinnamon the 2nd time around, but don't eliminate it, the cinnamon is such an important flavor in this recipe! Oh, I also eliminated currants because i just don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Roux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
First Dinner Party in new house, and SO's 30th birthday. A doubly special event. Had one vegetarian guest. She had tried to make Dolmas herself, but never turned out this good! They were a big hit. Another guest that will not eat ANYTHING green, was spotted picking the stuffing out of the leaves! Could not find any currants, so left them out. Was told later that I could have used white grape raisins (so try that if you too have trouble finding currants) Prepared stuffing and rolled dolmas the night before. I had never worked with grape leaves. First, I thought I could just pull them out one at a time (like a can of baby wipes) but finally figured out that you had to work the whole bundle out of the jar, then unroll it. Also, I thought I would have plenty of extra leaves because it was a jar of 50, but as it turns out there were many that had holes in them, or were badly torn and not useable (so buy plenty extra!). I served them hot out of the steamer. I used a electric steamer for 45 mins, separating the layers of the dolmas with a little parchment paper (in hindsight, not sure if that was necessary as they did not seem to stick to each other or the steamer at all) I did not do the lemon juice thing, because when I have them at Greek restaurants I always think they have just a bit too much 'tang'. It was awesome, easy, and quite the crowd pleaser (as noted by other reviewers). Highly recommend it, A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These taste exactly like the ones we are served on our holidays to Greece. Exactly! I did not have the dill and I used brown rice and sultanas, which I chopped a little instead of currants, the grape vine leaves were our own we preserved last summer. I followed the recipe apart from that! This made a lot of dolmades, but we ate the left overs cold for lunch the next day. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I could not find currants, so i used dried cranberries. Also i could not find dried mint, so i ended up using orange peel for that splash of flavor! It added some zest. I made this recipe for 50 people and it went over very well! Also using a veggie steamer really helped. I cooked the rice separate from the onions and added a little more tomato paste so that the mixture could stick a little better! WONDERFUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This recipe is awesome!!! Didn't have mint so I substituted parsley. Saw some other reviews, backed off of cinnamon a bit, but added a grate or two or three of nutmeg. Used a steamer basket, drizzled a little bit of oil and lemon juice on top. Whatever the method, the rice recipe is incredible, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Great recipe, I also stuffed bell peppers, eggplants, and tomatoes with the same stuffing. OMG that turned out to be awsome. When adding bell peppers and eggplants make sure you line them on the bottom of your pot since the veggies are raw and will need more heat cooking them. Remove all the seeds from bell pepper keep the stem portion so that you cover the top and then place it in the pot. For the eggplants use the thin once not those bulky huge once. If the eggplant is too long cut it in half and shave off the inside of it leaving a thin layered skin about (3 mm.) I use a teaspoon doing that. Make sure you leave the bottom of the eggplant untouched so that the stuffing does not spill. The tomatoes go on all theway on top around the pot after you have rolled your dolmas. Again cut off the top of the tomato and shave off the inside with the spoon add filling and cover with the stem portion. It is YUMMY. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I was looking for a vegetarian addition to my Lebanese lamb-filled grape leaves for a dinner party. This recipe complemented the meat variety perfectly. The flavor is complex and rich, and the dish is satisfying and filling. I wrapped a few of the dolmas in home-made pita bread dipped in olive oil - fantastic. Highly recommended for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These were sooo good! In my case, I used brown rice chopped cashews (they happened to be on hand) instead of pine nuts. As far as I'm concerned, you can add whatever comes to mind and they will be AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandawanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I made this recipe this weekend for a very large potluck (~50 people). The reviews were tremendous, whether from the few people who had had dolmas before or the vast majority utterly unfamiliar with them. I am providing the recipe (actually, a link to it) to probably 10 people. (Another half dozen people took the left-overs home.) Although this is not a typical American party food, I highly recommend it for that very purpose. It was surprisingly easy to make, well-appreciated by both the meat-eaters and vegetarians in the crowd, and offered a novel diversion from the "typical" potluck food. Although the ingredients sound hard to find, all were available at my local grocery store (Thriftway)--I actually tried Trader Joes first, but they didn't have grape leaves or dried currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States