Dolmas (Stuffed Grape Leaves) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
i have a vineyard--i am going to make them this weekend--thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
My husband is Syrian and I have tried many versions of grape leaves. Our grape leaves are delicious we make a vegetarian recipe that is wonderful as well as the traditional rice and lamb version. The vegetarian recipe has chickpeas, rice, tomato, spices, oil, parsley, green onion, fresh mint, and lemon. This recipe was the absolute worst that I have ever had. Now I understand why some people make a face when I talk about grape leaves...they probably had something similar to this recipe. I cant describe how bad they were... I went back and checked the recipe, believing I left out a pertinent ingredient. I followed the recipe exactly. Don't waste your time and effort on these. A one star rating is too high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I had to adjust the taste of the filing a bit to get it to a better place. It was ok, and edible. But I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These taste exactly like the ones we are served on our holidays to Greece. Exactly! I did not have the dill and I used brown rice and sultanas, which I chopped a little instead of currants, the grape vine leaves were our own we preserved last summer. I followed the recipe apart from that! This made a lot of dolmades, but we ate the left overs cold for lunch the next day. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I made these for a potluck party and couldn't bring them. I followed the directions exactly as said, both in this recipe and how to prepare the grape leaves by putting them in boiling water for a minute. But this didn't work out at all. The grape leaves were stringy and never softened up. The filling was good, but the rest of it - This was such a disappointment because based on the reviews, I thought this was a sure fire hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My2CatsR2Cool

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This recipe is awesome!!! Didn't have mint so I substituted parsley. Saw some other reviews, backed off of cinnamon a bit, but added a grate or two or three of nutmeg. Used a steamer basket, drizzled a little bit of oil and lemon juice on top. Whatever the method, the rice recipe is incredible, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I could not find currants, so i used dried cranberries. Also i could not find dried mint, so i ended up using orange peel for that splash of flavor! It added some zest. I made this recipe for 50 people and it went over very well! Also using a veggie steamer really helped. I cooked the rice separate from the onions and added a little more tomato paste so that the mixture could stick a little better! WONDERFUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Thanks for this great recipe! I have grapes and really wanted a good dolma recipe. This is IT! I reduced the cinnamon the 2nd time around, but don't eliminate it, the cinnamon is such an important flavor in this recipe! Oh, I also eliminated currants because i just don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Roux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I was disappointed with this recipe. Mostly, I think that is WAY too much cinnamon. It really takes away from the other flavors. I will have to definitely alter it the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These were sooo good! In my case, I used brown rice chopped cashews (they happened to be on hand) instead of pine nuts. As far as I'm concerned, you can add whatever comes to mind and they will be AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pandawanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States