Dolma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I have to agree that this is one of the most fabulous Mediterranean-style dishes that I have ever had. Absolutely delicious. Thanks to "MrsReamesNoodle" for providing us with what is sure to become everyone's new favorite. This is truly a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoChaHo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Isnt it amazing how countries adopt each others recipes? This is a very old Turkish recipe. The word DOLMA is a Turkish word meaning TO FILL or FILLING. The Southern Turkish way of cooking this is, before taking it off the stove, mix the juice of 1 lemon, 2 crushed cloves of garlic, and dried mint and pour over the stuffed dolma's(lift the plate off ofcourse) and gently simmer for about 2 more minutes. Dolma can also be prepared using the same ingredients but with cabbage leaves or hollowed out marrow. My favourite is the stuffed very small capsicums, usually found in Turkish or Middle Eastern grocery stores. I hope you enjoy this recipe as my family always does. TIP: Turkish people also serve this meal with garlick yoghurt (Mix a little crushed garlick with plain yoghurt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Even my picky eaters liked this recipe. I only used 2 cups rice, but 4 cups water, just because usually uncooked rice usually needs double the water of the amount of raw rice. We thought it turned out great. It wasn't dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I loved this recipe...we have tried it several times and each time we were delighted by this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye Knickman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Although I intend to tweak this recipe as a matter of personal preference, it was terrific! Preparation was easy and it tasted delicious. Thanks for submitting it! I would note that we used considerably more water than the recipe called for - nearly 5 cups, but it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I'm so excited to read such positive reviews, thank you so much! I have since been told this by other family members to add lemon juice to water, or garlic with the spices, or only use olive oil on bottom of pan, etc. I still love it grandma's original way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ir Nana C
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I sub grape leaves to cabbage and it still taste good. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ir Nana C

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
It came out pretty good my first time around. Next time, I would like to play with the recipe a bit. Perhaps use lamb and up the spice content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This traditional Turkish recipe (dolma = filling in Turkish) can be prepared in many different ways. It can be really time consuming to prepare the dolma rolls if this is your first few times. In Turkey people use a very simple $2 tool that can roll it perfectly in just a few seconds. Dolma can also be prepared using the same ingredients but with cabbage leaves. Or you can stuff tomatoes or baby-capsicums and oven bake them in the sauce (make sure they don't dry). If you like to try different tastes you can add baby sultanas or blackpepper seeds into the mixture. You can give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have my own personal recipe for Dolma on my profile but I like to try new things... The potato is different than ours and so is the curry.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States