Dol Sot Bi Bim Bap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
All I can say is thank you! My husband loves this dish and I've been hard pressed to find a recipe that he likes. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
**My rating is soley based on the marinade for the meat since I didn't follow the rest of the recipe.** The Outback Steakhouse here in Daegu, South Korea serves a dish called Kakadu Griller and the main ingredient is a galbi marinated steak. The marinade from this recipe tastes just like that! So I used bulgogi style cut steak and marinaded the steak for a couple hours. I then coated the bottom of a cast iron skillet with sesame seed oil, dumped in all of the steak with some of the marinade and let it come to a boil until the steak was thoroughly cooked. I then served it on top of white rice and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent, just like what we had in Korea- thanks so much for this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was SO much better than I was expecting. I used 1/4 cup of soy sauce, 1/4 cup of each sugar and a little bit of honey for the marinade with the green onions, garlic and sesame seeds (1 pound of meat) and it was PERFECT. I could have eaten the meat alone! I then used carrots, spinach, cucumbers, mushrooms, and peppers for the veggies. For a pepper sauce, I used Srirachi pepper sauce. I also cooked the rice in a rice cooker and then pressed "cook" again after it was finished to crisp up the bottom rice for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I did modify it a little, decreasing the sugar by half (using 1/4 C sugar and 1/4 C honey). Still, it was plenty sweet. I also omitted several ingredients I did not have, such as cucumber, carrot, and sesame seeds. Also, on one serving, I attempted the raw egg feat, but it didn't cook into the meal like I had expected, so the whole bowl of food became slippery from the egg. On other servings, I simply fried the egg on one side, then inverted it onto the food. Much better, in my opinion! I only had 1 lb. meat, so I used that. I substituted habanero hot sauce for the chili sauce, as well. Additionally, the only oil I used was a small bit to oil the dishes, and a small bit for frying eggs, spinach, sprouts, etc. I did not pour any over the finished dish. Note: To get the rice to sizzle, I had to put the rice in immediately after oiling the bowl (I used Pyrex bowls.) When I oiled more than one bowl at a time before adding rice, the rice didn't sizzle. So don't let those oiled bowls sit if you want the sizzle. :) The way I made it, I probably give it a four and a half. If I'd had the other ingredients on hand, I think that would have pushed this recipe into 5-star territory. Hence the rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ieetcows
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
If I must say so myself....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieetcows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This looks awesome, does anybody know where to get stone bowls?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
just like in Korea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Used ingredients I had on hand: ground turkey, cabbage, spinach, snow peas, as well as the suggested seasonings, rice, egg, and nori. Instead of marinating the meat, I just cooked it with the marinade ingredients (used less, just to taste). It still tasted outstanding, and was very easy to prepare. Will definitely make this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was great - we tried it on a whim, and man were we happy with this gem. We used pyrex bowls, replaced green onion with regular, and used a few other fresh vegetables we had on hand ( snow peas, baby carrots and arugula). We didn't have chili paste so we looked up a substitute, and it really became the star of the dish alongside the meat. Will be making again, and again... and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States