Doggie Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My dogs loved these. Made with 3/4 cup water and extra whole wheat flour replacing the corn meal. They usually get a treat after going outside, especially in -30 weather, and today they kept asking to go outside so they would get this biscuit when they come in. Clever woofies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I just mixed up these biscuits but haven't baked them yet. Yes, this recipe is way off on the water. I used 1/2 cup, and I fear that may have been too much as the dough is too soft for rolling. I put the dough in the refrigerator. Perhaps, chilling it will stiffen it! If that fails, I may need to add more flour. I was drawn to this recipe because of its ingredients. I want to make biscuits as holiday gifts for my dog's buddies at his dog park. I hope I can roll out and cut the dough tomorrow. (?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Dog tested and approved!!! I can not wait to give these treats to all our family and friends with dogs for the Holidays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This was a 5-star recipe with the changes I made. Firstly, wheat and white flour aren't really good choices for dogs. Instead I made my own oat flour and used that instead. I replaced the water for pumpkin puree, because it is a very healthy food for dogs and I upped the peanut butter to 1/4 cup so they would hold together better. I completely omitted the canola and vanilla extract. My dogs absolutely LOVED these treats and I made a double batch to give out to my neighbors for their dogs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These dog biscuits make a wonderful treat for your dog or an awesome Holiday gift for your family's and friends' dogs. Find a pretty cookie tin, decorative box, or even a small bag to use as a stocking stuffer. I used a little less than 3/4 cup water for the perfect consistency to roll out and cut. Ended up with 58 small biscuits and 26 large. I like to print a copy of the recipe to include with the gift just so everybody knows what ingredients are used (and in case they want to replenish the dog cookie jar after they're gone). Trust me, this will be a gift everybody will remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Make sure you start with using only 3/4 cup water, NOT 1 1/2! Lucy, our Boston loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucy16076
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I changed it up a bit.. 1/2 cup water vs the 11/2cups and 1/2c bacon drippings and crumbled bacon instead of the canola oil. My puppy loves them as a special treat :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This came out great as a starting point. I read some of the reviews and decided to tweak things quite a bit. I am concerned about wheat and corn allergies so I instead used 2 1/2c rice flour and 1/2 cup flax seeds for the wheat flours and corn meal. Then I subtracted a bit of the water down to 3/4C, I added an egg because the dough seemed a bit 'mealy' and took out the oil altogether, instead upping the PB to 1/2C. They took about 13 minutes in a 400 degree oven to cook and my dogs loved them. Nice crispy texture when baked, and the resulting dough was easy to work with when rolling and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawiccewoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My 2 dogs love these. Either made following the recipe with the reduction of water to 1/2 cup or if I decide to play with it. Sometimes have used chicken broth instead of water and left out the peanut butter and vanilla and added a bit of garlic powder. Very flexible recipe. I always leave out the cornmeal and increase the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I used only 1 cup of water and as I mixed it I added little handfuls of flour. It turned out great! I got more than two dozen per recipe! Im going to go to the store next time and buy carob chips and dip the cookies in it for an added treat! Christmas Presents!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsedwardcullen215

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States