Doggie Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by CooksW/Love
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
All the dogs that tried these really enjoyed them,One dog, was whimpering to get at the rest of the bag!! hahahaha The only thing is, like other reviewers said, i think the proportions are a bit off. I used less water, per other reviewers and then i subbed some of the oil for bacon fat- but I think you can cut back on a 1/2 cup. the dough was so greasy I had to keep adding flour and oats and cornmeal. Dough was easy to roll on parchment paper, and i used regular cookie cutters and then to make a smaller bite size treat cookie for my Boston Terrier (and friends small dogs) I used a water bottle cap to cut out little circular cookies. We tried these, they were flavorless to us, but the dogs loved them and so did all the dog owners when i gave them as birthday party favors. Im going to make these again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
After 2 yrs of trying to find a treat our dog would eat, we are so happy our first try at making them was this recipe, as our dog, Jack, loves them...and we didn't even have any vanilla in the pantry. Come to find out, another neighbor's dog is just as finicky, and loved these treats, too! it was a little sloppy and had to add more flour, but next time we'll follow suggestions for cutting down the water and I liked the suggestion for shaping them without the cookie cutter, as our cookie cutters were too big for the terrier next door! We're wondering if fresh mint would help with the breath? Thanks, Dani!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Wonderfull fun treat for my dog!! I of course read the review's and used 1/2 liquid instead of water I used beef broth and I used chuncky peanut butter. I look forward to making more and more. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These are great. I used 1/2c water and rolled them into little balls to use as training treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWEMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very good recipe, I read previous reviews and cut the water down to 1/2 c - that's all I needed. I rolled the dough a bit too thin, so if I make these again I will cut down the cooking time. They smelled great and the dogs loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernsk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
My dogs love this! I did change one thing - I used bacon grease for the canola oil, and didn't have to use all the water. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These doggie biscuits will definitely be a repeat for my boys! I made them as holiday treats and they were a huge hit. The cookies couldn't have been simpler to make, and I had most of the ingredients on hand already. Best of all, I felt good about feeding these to my guys because I knew what they were made of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Our Italian Greyhound LOVED his homemade "cookies" I substituted oats for the corn and used 1/2 cup of water, as others suggested. These were so simple to make! We have wrapped them up for all of our puppy "friends" to enjoy :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
If you cut the amount of water down to 1/2 cup, this is a five-star recipe, according to my Merry! She really loves these biscuits, and I feel good knowing what goes into them. I just made my second batch, and used beef broth instead of water and added a little crushed garlic for flea control. Will experiment with using bacon grease for part or all of the oil next time. i also agree that the 2 Tablespoons of vanilla may be excessive, i cut that to 2 teaspoons. This does make a lot, and since Merry is a small dog, I cut the recipe in half. Still made 75 small biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I should have read all of the reviews first, because the water called for was way too much. But, my puppy seemed to like them much more than another recipe I tried. I just added more dry ingredients until the dough was firm enough to roll out. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States