Doggie Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Due to allergies I totally changed this. No corn, no wheat. Dogs should not eat gluten or corn. I used old fashioned oats for the oatmeal that I chopped in my food processor first. Then a combo flour that is gluten free for all of the flour listed. Ground flax seed for the corn meal measurement. I reduced the amount of vanilla by a third. I added baby food pears large jar and limited the amount of water til it held together. I used half the oil due to fat concerns, and not canola, use olive or soybean. I used natural peanut butter, no sugar, it hurts their kidneys. It is very sticky so did not try to roll out, I used a wet finger to smooth out each dropped teaspoon on parchment paper that I did not grease. If you make them thin bake 10 minutes and turn off oven for the next 20 or so to dry out. Let cool on parchment. Most will be crunchy. If any are not refrigerate them until use or will mold. The crunchy ones will be ok for the week if they last that long! People like them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMurphy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I do cut the water down to 1/2 a cup and add it last to make sure the dough consistency is not too wet. I am too lazy to roll the dough out, so I just flatten it with my palm and cut out the cookies directly on the baking sheet, removing the excess dough. I take the cookies out after the 20 minutes and let them harden on the stove top, otherwise I make it as written.These have been very well received by the pet therapy dogs and the neighborhood dogs, and is it not a much better Christmas gift than the standard people cookies? I sincerely thank the submitter. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe ... Made with Xmas cookie cutters and gave as gifts to doggie parents! My dog loved them... Making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MargieR
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I should of read reviews first. Instead of biscuits it was balls there was no way I was rolling this out. I will add less water and oil next time. I did add some banana baby food. They still loved them whether they look pretty or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I wish the keepers of the recipes would change the amount of water used in the ingredients up front rather than us who trust the recipe and don't read the reviews first to find out that was way too much water. This is supposed to be a fun recipe, and it was great except for that detail which is important for those who panic and don't know to add more dry ingredients to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Dogs loved them but way to wet. Must cut down on water and I think the vanilla too~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita
Home Town: Fairport Harbor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Dogs loved these, and just used a "flax egg" instead of egg to make these vegan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
My doggie Max really loved these treats! I read some of the reviews first and just started out with a little water and added just enough to make a good dough to work with. My dog went crazy over these and it makes me feel good to feed him a healthy treat without any mysterious ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Combining the suggestions of several reviewers, add some fresh minced garlic (known to repel fleas) and use meat greese (adds shine and reduce shedding to your dog's coat). I highly suggest substituting broth for water to increase flavor. Reduce the broth/water to 1/2c, cook for 15-20 minutes. Reducing the water makes the dough easier to handle and quicker cook time in the oven. My dog absolutely loves these and she is really picky. Handed these out for Christmas because all my family members have dogs too. Just tie a string around them in a bow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My dogs absolutely loved these! I also made some for Christmas gifts for my family members who have dogs. I gave 4 stars because as I had read from other reviewers you don't need so much water. I used a half cup. Also, corn is one of the big allergies for dogs so the corn meal isn't the best choice. I replaced it with oats as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States