Doggie Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Good recipe. Definitely too much water, so cut back to 1/2 a cup and add gradually until you get a cookie dough consistency. We also added some dried peppermint leaves to promote good doggy breath. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This recipe works well with just 1/2 cup water and 2 tsp of vanilla. I substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for the corn meal as corn meal is not digestible for dogs. I tried subbing more oatmeal in a first batch, but the w/w flour worked best. Easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
My dog enjoyed the treats, and that is the main thing, since she can tend to be finicky. I also did not read the comments until I had added the water and found it was way too much. It might be best for the recipe to say 2/3 cup water and more as needed, or something similar. I added dry ingredients and peanut butter to make the dough workable and froze half the dough for another batch. It may be my oven, but the 400 temp was too high for the size treats I made and they began to burn on the bottom around the 13 minute mark, so I decreased the heat to 375, and will use 375 for the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Even dogs who are picky love these!! I did not use corn meal so instead I added 1/4 C whole wheat flour and 1/4 C oats to replace the corn meal. I also only used 1/2 C water and 2 teaspoons vanilla. The only other change I made is I did not really measure peanut butter so it was more like 3 heaping tablespoons. I made two batches. The first I will call my practice run as they were much thinner. If you do it the correct thickness it will come out exactly with the number of biscuits that it says . On the second batch I only left them in the oven for ten minutes after it was turned off instead of 20. They were less dark that way and looked much better. All my friends and clients with dogs got these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefpate
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My three dogs love these treats! So easy to make. I did find that only half the amount of water works great for me. I make these all the time. With three fur kids we go through quite a few!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Mine turned out like batter, too, and I added more flour and oats, but consistency only allowed me to make balls. Just watched the video and it says to use 3/4 cup water, while the recipe says 1-1/2 cups. That's the difference! I'll cut back on the water. They are baking now and smell delicious, even though they won't be as cute as I'd hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Desiree Fitzgerald
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Super easy and the puppies loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Fitzgerald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was great dogs loved it and it was easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
As suggested in other reviews, I replaced the water with beef broth and reduced it to 1/2 c. It was still a bit liquidy after that but I added a bit more flour and it worked out fine. My co-workers dog really seemed to enjoy these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I just made this for my dogs, very excited to make something wholesome, and the dough is like cake batter. I tried making them into cookies and they are soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States