Doggie Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Doggie likes them! I burned the first batch because it didn't say how thin to roll them out and I followed the baking instructions and it was too much. Second time I made them thicker and baked for the 20 minutes and took them out and this worked better. I would like to know how to store them and how long they last as it does make a lot of treats especially for a small dog. They smell great while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
The first time I made these, I added brown rice and omitted the corn meal. They turned out OK and my dogs liked them. This time, I followed the recipe and they were very greasy, also only used 1 cup of water and thank the stars because it would have been a mess. Will do my own thing next time, and if it's good, I will post my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scootergal
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
mmm so yummy my dog loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I have used this recipe multiple times. They have been happily received. I cut the after down, too. Usually 1/2 - 3/4c is enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Good recipe. Definitely too much water, so cut back to 1/2 a cup and add gradually until you get a cookie dough consistency. We also added some dried peppermint leaves to promote good doggy breath. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This recipe works well with just 1/2 cup water and 2 tsp of vanilla. I substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for the corn meal as corn meal is not digestible for dogs. I tried subbing more oatmeal in a first batch, but the w/w flour worked best. Easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
My dog enjoyed the treats, and that is the main thing, since she can tend to be finicky. I also did not read the comments until I had added the water and found it was way too much. It might be best for the recipe to say 2/3 cup water and more as needed, or something similar. I added dry ingredients and peanut butter to make the dough workable and froze half the dough for another batch. It may be my oven, but the 400 temp was too high for the size treats I made and they began to burn on the bottom around the 13 minute mark, so I decreased the heat to 375, and will use 375 for the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Even dogs who are picky love these!! I did not use corn meal so instead I added 1/4 C whole wheat flour and 1/4 C oats to replace the corn meal. I also only used 1/2 C water and 2 teaspoons vanilla. The only other change I made is I did not really measure peanut butter so it was more like 3 heaping tablespoons. I made two batches. The first I will call my practice run as they were much thinner. If you do it the correct thickness it will come out exactly with the number of biscuits that it says . On the second batch I only left them in the oven for ten minutes after it was turned off instead of 20. They were less dark that way and looked much better. All my friends and clients with dogs got these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefpate
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My three dogs love these treats! So easy to make. I did find that only half the amount of water works great for me. I make these all the time. With three fur kids we go through quite a few!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Mine turned out like batter, too, and I added more flour and oats, but consistency only allowed me to make balls. Just watched the video and it says to use 3/4 cup water, while the recipe says 1-1/2 cups. That's the difference! I'll cut back on the water. They are baking now and smell delicious, even though they won't be as cute as I'd hoped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States