Doggie Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by SheCook
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I used this recipe for our Roxy's 3rd birthday. All 5 dogs give this a 5 star rate. Even a few humans taste tested. I used more carrots than the recipe asked for, only because I shredded too much but dumped them in anyway and they were moist and delicious. Didn't have honey but used a little VT maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Awesome easy recipe.I'm made these twice in one week. The dogs absolutely love them. I've made them in forms of cupcakes, the second time I made them into brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
The dogs loved this!!! It was easy to do and well worth it. We only had a little bit of carrots so we didn't add so many, but we also added a jar of carrot apple baby food. Happy Birthday Princess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luvs_p8ing
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My dog loved this from the time I prepped it to the time I gave it to him. I wanted to make him a cake for his first birthday. I followed the directions other then using a sifter (I used a fork to sift the baking soda into the wheat flour). I also didn't have a cake pan so I used a pie pan. I dont know if its because I used a gas stove, but mine was good to go in that pie pan in 25 min at 350F. I used a frosting of whipped cream chz, plain yogurt, honey and some cinnamon. Just mix to the consistancy you want. Add the whipped crm chz first then the yogurt little by little. It stays thicker that way. Put it in the fridge for a few hours then I frosted the cake added a few pup treats and carrots for decoration. My dog LOVED IT! It was easy to make too! Im definitely using this recipie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I substituted grated sweet potatoes for the carrots (because I was fresh outta carrots), and the dogs went WILD. Great recipe! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patsy Jackson
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made these for my girl's 3rd birthday. Doubled it to make 12 and mixed a few table spoons of cream cheese with all natural peanut butter for icing. Used whole wheat flour and natural pb in the cupcakes as well. They tasted great and she LOVED them. My only suggestion is that 40 minutes might be about 10 minutes too long as they were a bit dry... hard to say if it's the baking or the recipe that made them so. Either way, she didn't care one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donny-n-Mary
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My german shepherd LOVED LOVED LOVED this cake. He ate the entire thing! Did the same as others used peanut butter mixed with honey. Placed his kibble on top, and I sliced some of his doggy bacon strips in thin pieces and lined that around the side of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donny-n-Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeannaTracy
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this for my puppy's 1st birthday and he loved it! I used whipped cream cheese for frosting and wrote his name on it by putting peanut butter in a Ziploc bag and cutting a tip off of the bag. I also bought a bone-shaped tin from Target.com and used that for a fun shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoshR
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this for my dog Chief's 4th birthday party and we all (including Chief) loved them. They are a little thick for a cupcake but still good. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoshR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
It's my dog's birthday today, so I wanted to bake something delicious for him, and these definitely did the trick. I cut the recipe in half and made 4 decently-sized cupcakes in foil baking cups on a cookie sheet. I didn't have any carrots, so I added a bit of chicken broth for moisture and then fried up two strips of bacon. Most of the bacon went into the batter, and I saved four small pieces to put on top of the cupcakes. While the cupcakes were baking, I poured just a little bit of chicken broth into the bacon pan and scooped the resulting mixture into a bowl and added a little more peanut butter for a "frosting." He. went. crazy. I had more fun watching him devour the cupcake than he did eating it, I'm sure. Great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

How to Clarify Butter

See a simple process that lets butter withstand higher heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States