Doggie Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Patsy Jackson
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made these for my girl's 3rd birthday. Doubled it to make 12 and mixed a few table spoons of cream cheese with all natural peanut butter for icing. Used whole wheat flour and natural pb in the cupcakes as well. They tasted great and she LOVED them. My only suggestion is that 40 minutes might be about 10 minutes too long as they were a bit dry... hard to say if it's the baking or the recipe that made them so. Either way, she didn't care one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donny-n-Mary
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My german shepherd LOVED LOVED LOVED this cake. He ate the entire thing! Did the same as others used peanut butter mixed with honey. Placed his kibble on top, and I sliced some of his doggy bacon strips in thin pieces and lined that around the side of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donny-n-Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeannaTracy
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this for my puppy's 1st birthday and he loved it! I used whipped cream cheese for frosting and wrote his name on it by putting peanut butter in a Ziploc bag and cutting a tip off of the bag. I also bought a bone-shaped tin from Target.com and used that for a fun shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoshR
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this for my dog Chief's 4th birthday party and we all (including Chief) loved them. They are a little thick for a cupcake but still good. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoshR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
It's my dog's birthday today, so I wanted to bake something delicious for him, and these definitely did the trick. I cut the recipe in half and made 4 decently-sized cupcakes in foil baking cups on a cookie sheet. I didn't have any carrots, so I added a bit of chicken broth for moisture and then fried up two strips of bacon. Most of the bacon went into the batter, and I saved four small pieces to put on top of the cupcakes. While the cupcakes were baking, I poured just a little bit of chicken broth into the bacon pan and scooped the resulting mixture into a bowl and added a little more peanut butter for a "frosting." He. went. crazy. I had more fun watching him devour the cupcake than he did eating it, I'm sure. Great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kj
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used this recipe to make my dog's 1st BD cake. I made it as cupcakes and it turned out great. My dog is a very picky eater and has very sensitive stomach. But this cake, he ate them all and had no stool problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made this for my dog's (Chihuahua mix, Beamer) birthday. He and his visitors (four other doggies, 3 Westies and another Chihuahua mix) loved it! I will definitely be making this for his next birthday. :) Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
My daughter begged me to bake a cake for our dog's 8th birthday, and I found this recipe today. The dog LOVED it and it was gone in 10 seconds. I made "6 servings" in four little ramekins, so it was a bit larger than a cupcake. We all tried it and it's an okay cake for people, but would probably be even better with frosting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Really easy and my dog loved it. She is pretty sensitive and it didn't upset her stomach at all. The batter does look dry but bakes and rises nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This cake is awesome!!!! My dog Nico love it. I made it for his first birthday and also made another and I use it as a special treat for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aguadilla, Aguadilla, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

How to Clarify Butter

See a simple process that lets butter withstand higher heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States