Doggie Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Great recipe...though I substituted applesauce for the cooking oil and I used a mini muffin pan since i have small dogs. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
The cake itself smelt good and had great texture, but the dogs didn not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiera Malin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Made this for my Staffy x Border Collie male dog for his 3rd birthday. He LOVED it! And I was so pleased to see I already had all the ingredients, although not oil so I did without and still came out perfect. Will definitely use this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Conomos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My dogs absolutely love this recipe!! I like to put them in muffin tins and sometimes mini muffin tins. They make a great healthy treat for my pups. I usually make a double batch in minin muffin pans ang throw them in a gallon soize zip lock, sometiemes I also freeze them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
My granddaughter and I made these today for Happy Gotcha Day for our rescue Great Pyrenees and Golden Retrievers. Had everything on hand. Used applesauce instead of honey and baked in mini muffin pan for 15 minutes. We frosted them with a dollop of peanut butter while they where still hot. They were a huge hit with all our puppers. Since we can control what we are giving our furkids, we will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made this for my puppy for his second birthday. He absolutely loved it!!!! It was easy to make too. I also used peanut butter and honey for frosting. Definitly a winner!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I like dog treats that you can actually see what's in them. This is perfect. I did put my own twist on this recipe and my dog loved it. Instead of any flour, I ground up Wheat Chex (same amount as the flour called for), which gave a really nice texture to the mix, and instead of oil, I used extra-chunky, unsweetened applesauce from Trader Joe's. I also used a sugar and salt-free peanut butter, figuring there would be enough sweet in it (and salt they don't need), and used about 1/2 the honey. Instead of a single pan, I used a mini-muffin tin, and one batch yielded about 22 of the treats. I even tried these, and I'll say, they aren't too bad at all--decent flavors, decent texture, and they hold together really nicely. A little on the bland side, but for a dog and their hyper smell and taste, they are beyond good. At least my Dougan thinks so. Same oven (350), spraying the pan with a cooking spray (wiping and respraying the pan out between batches), baked in the tin for 12-15 minutes. Cool a little in the pan and they should just pop out. I put them in a zip-lock bag, and they kept for a good week just on the counter. Today, I'm quadrupling the batch to make little goody-bags to take to friend's homes for holiday parties that have a pup. I think they will be well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
My Coco loves this recipe! I make these into cupcakes for her Birthday and we share them with all her friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Simple and easy and my dogs love it!! I made it for my Shih Tzu's 10th birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We had no carrots and I did not think to add frosting but our dogs pratically devoured the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States