Dog Treats II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
My dogs loved these. I omitted the jelly, sugar and corn syrup, added an egg and doubled the amount of flour and oats. My dogs said WOOF!!! Also, I made peanut butter ones with about a tablespoon of peanut butter and a teaspoon of honey, (minus the sugar jelly and corn syrup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
My Yorky LOVED this treat. I added some peanut butter as suggested. I plan to bake up a larger batch for some friend's dogs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
My 8year old wanted to make puppy treats this morning and he picked out this recipe. I made lots of changes, the main one being that I realized I was out of oatmeal and so I chopped up some hotdogs and added them to the dough. Also, I think the liquid is off in this recipe...I ended up adding a little milk to make the dough come together. Didn't add the sugar on top as our dogs are kind of chunky and don't need the extra calories, LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Actually - I just used part of this recipe - the cheese/water/oats/flour. I got rid of all the sugar - graham crackers/jelly/corn syrup - because my older dog has liver problems and sugar should be avoided. But she loved the modified version of these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
My Dog Shadow LOVED these tasty treats, I upscaled it to servings of 10, thought it seems to make ALOT more then 10 servings!! I also added garlic to help with fleas and heart, so not only tasty but healthy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
My Boston Terrier, who usually eats ANYTHING, and everything, would not get anywhere near these. I'm hoping th dog across the street will like them so that all is not lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I helped my 4 yr old make this for our friends dogs. We rolled it out and cut with cookie cutters. My son loved making it and our friends all asked for the recipe saying their dogs loved the treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This recipe was ok, my dog liked it well enough but wasn't crazy about them. Of course, she is a very picky eater so it might just be her. I also wanted to suggest not to use RASINS as another reviewer suggested. Grapes and raisins are toxic to your beloved dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
My Beagles loved them and my 3 year old LOVED making them! We used cheese singles, and chicken bullion cubes. Also loved the garlic and parsley add-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made these yesterday for my Bichon Beau and for the furkids of friends and made the following changes: 1 c rolled oats, 1/3 c. butter, 1 c boiling beef stock, 3/4 c cornmeal, 1 T. Splenda, 1/2 c milk 1 1/2 c cheddar cheese, 1/3 c gr. parmesan cheese, 1 egg and 2 1/2 c of all purpose flour. My "Bubba" went nuts for them! He is somewhat finicky, also a diabetic receiving insulin twice a day, which is why I used the Splenda...but he loves them, and today has taken to "talking" to them before he eats them...no idea what that is about!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States