Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I changed the recipe. I put bacon shortening instead of margarine, added flax seed, parsley, and changed the sugar to molasses. The dogs loved them. They are crunchy. I also used mozzarella cheese. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Not enough liquid. Don't have a dough mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These biscuits don't raise, they will stay the exact shape you cut them. There is no need to leave much space between them on the pan. Also, after the first pan I rolled them thinner, they are a better size to for the dog to chew. Dogs all gave them two paws up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Castellucci Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
My finicky, picky eater Pom loves these! Pretty easy to make too, like baking cookies for your furry baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Chace
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I really enjoyed making these. They were moderately easy and didn't make a huge mess. I substituted chicken stock because some of my dogs are allergic to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
All 5 dogs I have made these for just love them.The last one was a friend's dog that I pet sat. She said I either had to give her the recipe or move in! And my mom even tried one! Have tried a few other recipes but this is definitely the best! I can make 'cookies' without gaining a pound!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
My dogs loved it. I didn't have any margerine, so I used real butter, but they still came out great. I like them crispier, so I rolled them out to 1/4 inch and cooked them crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I am going to try this recipe. But I will make some changes. I would use olive oil instead of margarine, organic brown rice flour instead of whole wheat flour, take out the cornmeal, honey instead of sugar and low sodium chicken/beef broth instead of bouillon cube. I can't wait to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy800

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
To save time, we just cut them into little rectangles with a pizza cutter, my dogs really don't seem to notice when I don't use the cookie cutters :) This recipe is extremely forgiving, I omit the cornmeal and the sugar and add another dry ingredient or just more flour to make up for it. The dogs always love them, no matter what I substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I made it first with cheddar cheese, and it was a great success. Of course the dog loved it! I used oil instead of margarine. The second time I made it I substituted a cup of peanut butter for the cheese. She loved that too! I skipped the sugar both times, figuring a dog did not need sugar. With the peanut butter version I also added 3 tablespoons of dried milk powder to boost the protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States