Dog Treats I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
All my 3 dogs loved these cookies. Based on another review I made a few changes. I used olive oil instead of the butter and did not use the cornmeal. I used chicken bouillon because it was the only thing I had and I also added about 4 table spoon of crunchy peanut butter. I rolled the dough with a rolling pin and only used half of it. I ended up with about 30 cookies cut out with a bone and a dog shaped cookie cutters. I froze the rest to be used later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Our dog loved them. I made them with Mozzarella Cheese instead of Cheddar, 2 beef bouillen cubes instead of grandules and regular flour instead of whole wheat as these were the things I had on had on hand the time...and he still LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have made these many times now and give them as gifts to friends who also have dogs. I do not use cornmeal but will throw in leftover rice as we usually have it in the fridge. I also flip the biscuits over half way through the baking time and find this makes for a crisper biscuit. My husband LOVES them with red wine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
My doggie LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Sugar, cornmeal, and bouillon are not very good for dogs. Good substitutes would be honey, more flour, and some peanut butter. I would also substitute margarine for olive oil. Another thing i wouldn't use is the cheese for it could give your dog extreme gas issues.Since it is fresh with no preservatives, i would freeze the biscuits for a longer shelf life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moose
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
My dogs love these cookies!!! I did some changes that were suggested by others, like omitting cheese and bouillon cubes and adding peanut butter!! Thanks for the tips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made a few changes to this recipe and every dog I have given them too, loves them. I have to say, this dough is very easy to work with. Instead of margarine, I used coconut oil. I substituted cornmeal(which isn't good for dogs)with cream of wheat cereal. I used local raw honey instead of sugar,and 3/4 c.organic peanut butter in place of beef bouillon(too much salt). I omitted cheese and replaced with 1/2 c. applesauce(unsweetened). Used 2 beaten eggs and finally replaced 1 cup of wheat flour with 1 cup of coconut flour. I added some parsley flakes and a little cinnamon. Another note, since the cookies don't expand when baking, I placed them almost touching to get more on the cookie sheet. I used a small bone shaped cookie cutter 2" long and it made over 160 cookies. Next time I will cut the recipe in half. Baked 40 minutes. I also store the cookies in an airtight container in the refrigerator. This recipe is a winner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Azusa, California, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great recipe! Since my pup has some food allergies, I did make a few adjustments, substituting coconut oil for the margarine (great for skin and coat), no sugar or cornmeal (not good for animals), 1/2 c. extra oats, and brown rice flour instead of wheat (makes for a crisper biscuit also). I have also subbed a small jar of baby food chicken, beef etc. instead of the bouillon and/or 1/2 cup pumpkin or sweet potato with 2 tsp. of powdered milk instead of the 1/2 cup of milk. I have found this to be the best base recipe for dog treats that is easily adaptable to your dog's preferences! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
My dog loves them! Peanut butter idea was great too! Thanks,DOUGHMAMA & WODAKING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I used oil instead of margarine and chicken bouillon instead of beef, but left everything else alone. This does make a lot, but I have two large dogs so they will go through these in no time. They literally followed me around the kitchen for more after I gave them one. I feel better about giving them treats from home, I will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States