Dog Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I changed some things with this recipe, but it's a good base. I cut the shortening down to 3 tablespoons, omitted the salt, and used 1 jar of beef baby food instead of the ground pork. Pork allergies are common in dogs and they also don't have a taste for salt like humans do. Instead of the water and dry milk I used 1/2 cup of 1% milk, since that's all I had on hand. Also, don't bother putting them 2 inches apart on the cookie sheets... I pack mine on there, almost touching. They do not expand during baking, they shrink if anything. My Patterdale Terrier went bonkers for these! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
This is absolutely the best dog biscuit recipe. My dog loved it, and so did my friends' dogs. In an albeit not too scientific experiment, my dog chose this biscuit over cooked chicken and store bought dog biscuits. I thought the ground meat was going to be messy but it wasn't at all. I did leave the biscuits in the turned-off oven overnight to dry them up. My dog gained 4lbs in two weeks after I made her these because she wanted them so much that I kept on feeding her. I tried all the other dog biscuit recipes on this website and this is by far the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I BAKE EVERYDAY AND SOME OF THOSE DAYS ARE MAKING DOG TREATS . THESE WENT OVER AS ONE OF THEIR FAVOTITES ( GERMAN SHEPARD , BLACK LAB , TN WHATCHAMACALLIT DOG AND A NEW DACHSHUND PUPPY). THE ONLY THING THAT I CHANGED WAS TO USE BABY FOOD ( BEEF , CHICKEN ), FROM JARS ,IN PLACE OF THE MEAT . IT WORKS OUT GREAT. YOU REALLY ONLY NEED ONE ( 2.5 OZ. )JAR , BUT I USED TWO. DO AS MANY AS YOU WANT , JUST ADJUST THE AMOUNT OF FLOUR . I ALSO PUT SOME CHOPPED PARSLEY IN , A COUPLE OF TABLESPOONS IS PLENTY , TO HELP THEIR " DOGGEY " BREATH .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Fabulous recipe!! My dogs asked for hunks of the dough while I was making them and loved that too. They wait by the oven until it dings and then dance for the treat!! The question was should they be frozen or refridgerated. I asked the All Recipes Staff and here is their answer: We recommend that you freeze your dog treats if you don't think they will be consumed within a few days. The fat in the beef can get old fairly quickly. If your dog does not like cold treats, heat them in the microwave for about 15 seconds. Thanks for your feedback to the Allrecipes.com(r) network. Great Staff, great recipe!! BJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My dogs loved this recipe (lab and chihuahua). I used the two small jars of beef baby food as someone suggested and it worked great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura NorCal
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Hi all dog lover's I make these and the oatmeal one's my dog drive's me nut's when I am making these... he loves them so does my daughters dog so no I have tomake them once a week. we keep our's in the freezer.. I do make one change I use cheese instead of carots. I also make them with any left over meat we have..great cookies for dogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
My dogs (poi, maltese, and labs) really love these biscuits. I usually buy 1/2 lb. of ground beef when it's on sale at the market and fry it up after I've cooked bacon, thus eliminating most or all the shortening. I crumble a beef bouillon cube into the hot mixture after it has cooked and mix well. I cut out hearts and call them my California Hearts. Usually I cut out a pan of mini hearts and 3 pans of the regular size. They are wonderful! I do store them in the fridge. However, one time I found a package in a tote bag after a month and it seemed ok. I really like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
My two boxers love these! I have them in a ziplock bag in the fridge. Now any time I take a ziplock bag out of the fridge no matter it's contents the dogs are sitting and waiting right beside me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made these today with the following modifications: for the meat I used 1 jar of chicken w/gravy baby food and 1 jar of chicken w/vegetable... Threw in a teas. peanut butter and T of shredded cheese. No salt no boullion... I also didn't have milk powder so I used milk and less water... I know the recipe is quite different but hey she loved them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I don't have a dog, but made these for some friends' pets (2 St. Bernards, 1 goldren retriever and 2 mixed breeds). The feedback was that they were a COMPLETE hit! I used ground chuck, reserving the fat to replace some of the vegetable shortening and ground the cooked meat quite fine in my food processor. I enjoyed making these (they smell quite tasty while baking, actually) and will definitely do them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States