Dog Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was helpful for me, but since I changed so much I wouldn't really feel right giving it 5 stars as is. I used chicken bullion and leftover chicken scraps which I ran through the food processor, upped the meat and omitted the carrots and salt, added a teeny bit of garlic (evidently dogs like it-- look at your dog food ingredients and you'll probably see it), added some velveeta chunks, and used less fat (the chicken bits were quite fatty). I also made a quick cream cheese icing with just milk and cream cheese and corn starch. I made a big batch of these for Christmas, I usually send out baskets of homemade cookies and brittles and toffees for the humans but basically every extended family member has a dog/s so I thought I'd try this out this year; all the dogs from me and my husband's families (all 12 of them), plus our 3, went nuts for them. In the end I think this recipe is very forgiving. The important parts to remember are whole wheat flour, a significant amount of dry milk (it seems to kind of take the role of sugar in cookies), egg, and some fat. From there you could make these with virtually any meat or add ins, I think. If not making them for a special occasion but just regular treats, be sure to refrigerate them, they do go off quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenistaKaty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Adding herbs can add flavor and help freshen your dogs breath! They can also have health benefits. I like to add cilantro or fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I don't buy dog cookies anymore..my dog and her 4 legged friends love these cookies. Sometimes I replace carrots with oats. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wldctx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
My pups and neigbors' dogs loved these. Added twice the meat (cooked ground beef), and cut back on shortening due to fat in meat. Plus threw in some cornmeal & wheat germ. I used 1/2 cup of 1% milk for milk powder (had none) & water. Turned out great!! These should be kept in fridge or freezer to avoid spoilage. Next time will try making the oatmeal recipe but substituting peanut butter for grated cheese (or might half the recipe and try both). That recipe also sounds great like a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Both of my furry children love these, and I make them regularly. Here are my tweeks: I use any leftover meat, dicing it. Rather than rolling the dough out and using cookie cutters, I drop small spoonfuls on the cookie sheet and flatten them a bit. I bake them until the edges get brown, and after removing them from the oven and cookie sheet, I leave them out for awhile. This hardens them, which I think is better for my dogs' teeth. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
good recipe. I subbed zuchini for carrot, just cause I had it in the freezer, worked great. Smelled delicious in the oven. My bull mastiff loved em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
this recipe is really helpfull, but since i live in Indonesia and so hard to find a cheap whole wheat flour(mostly i found with expensive import products), can i substitute with all purpose flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavia valentine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My dog is crazy about this biscuit. Instead of pork, I used ground beef and my pooch love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Dog LOVES these; heck, I ate 3! They're savory, a little cheesy, and quite filling for tiny cookies. I used a half-cup milk instead of the dry milk + water, as someone suggested. Instead of hassling with cooking ground pork, or buying that CRAZY expensive babyfood meat, I used one 3-oz. can of Armour Potted Meat (it's not gonna kill us). Added a handful of grated cheese in with the carrots. Also, I mixed the final batter with my hands, shaped it into balls, rolled gently in flour, and smashed them with a fork like peanut-butter cookies... easier than rolling and cutting if you have limited space. Butter-flavor shortening worked fine, too. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I subsituted beef and liver for the pork. Dogs should NOT eat any pork. Other than that, and the omission of salt, they were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States