Dog Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
my nonna(thats italian 4 grandma) has 2 dogs and they bolth liked them but i can only count one of the becuase bella will eat ANY thing so i give this recipe a 3 out of 5 stars by the way my dog loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I used 2 jars of beef and vegetable baby food and 1 tsp of beef bouillon paste. I recommend more flour if you go the baby food route. I had to knead in more flour because it was sticking to my counters badly but in just a couple minutes I was able to get it to just the right consistency. Then I cut them out with a halloween cat cookie cutter and they turned out great. I oiled one cookie sheet and not the other and found that the oil wasn't needed at all. The dogs loved these and my cats even ate a piece that was dropped on the counter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
The neighbors dog loves them. I added some left over ground upliver, used juices from last nithes beef roast and omited the powdered milk because I did not have any. The dog was doing tricks before I asked hime to, he loved them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I replaced the ground pork with a leftover hamburger and enough shredded cheese to make 1 cup of protein-- pulsed with 1/2 the dry ingredients in the food processor and our dog is suddenly very interested in obedience training-- anything to get one of these cookies! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
No doubt about it, these are a sure fired winner in our home! The cat loves em too which is a bonus. This is a great way for me to use up the pieces of chicken that don't normally get eaten when I roast a chicken. I used chicken broth in place of water & the fat from the broth in place of the shortening (it skims right off the top of refrigerated broth). I didn't have any milk powder so I omitted it, but my pets didn't complain. Thanks for a wonderful, healthy, & much favored treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChellCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Flaquita
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I don't have dogs, but I made these for a dog's birthday party with beef and they all went crazy for it. One even bit through the bag to get to the treats. Very easy to make. I pureed the batter in a food processor to make the dough smooth. Then I scooped them out with a cookie scoop and flattened them with a fork and flattened them with the fork for a little design.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
My dog really likes these treats - I use chopped bacon instead of ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Thanks for sharing this! I have 2 large dogs and a min-pin, and they all love these biscuits. I've used pork and beef in the recipe, and am going to try ground turkey. Now they snub their noses at the store bought biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made these for my friends dogs and they were well received, although not the favourite choice of the pups. Also, they were a bit more difficult to make as the mixture is really sticky and I had to knead in a whole lot extra flour to be able to even roll it out. If you are looking for a meat/veggie based biscuit they are pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
After reading the other reviews that stated pork is potentially bad for dogs, I omitted the pork. Instead I used a 6 oz. jar of beef/macaroni baby food. Instead of water and a bouillon cube, I used 1/2 cup of low sodium beef broth. I didn't measure out the grated carrot, I just used 1 large one. I also added a bunch of fresh chopped parsley. Finally, instead of the shortening I used about 2 Tbsp. bacon grease. I omitted the salt because I didn't think it was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States