Dog Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
@ laurad: Actually, dogs can have garlic. It's only if given in large quantities that they can develop hemolytic anemia. My dog gets fresh garlic on a regular basis. It keeps the mosquitoes and wood ticks away. I certainly wouldn't worry about the amount used in this recipe. I'd worry more about the bacon grease and beef bouillon granules. Instead, I would use a good quality oil in place of the grease and use a 100% all natural beef bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Very easy to make. My 4 year old made these almost all by herself and they were a big hit at her bake sale. Doggies loved them, too! We let them cool in the oven to harden them. Didn't have wheat germ on hand, so we used corn meal for a bit of texture. Omitted the garlic as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Five Paws! To the person who said to cut out the garlic: "Dr. Martin Goldstein (author of The Nature of Animal Healing) recommends adding garlic to home-made pet food and he himself feeds garlic to his own cats and dogs on a regular basis." Dogs would have to ingest huge amounts of garlic for it to be harmful - and it isn't happening with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Contrary to what laurad said, garlic is not bad for dogs. It should not be overused or given to dogs under 8 weeks or about to have surgery, but a small amount of garlic can be beneficial to a dogs health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
My dog's LOVED these biscuits, they were following me everywhere. I added extra bacon grease, can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I inherited a labbea(lab-beagle) from one of our girls... Since I make food for EVERYBODY and everyone ,why not make it for our puppy. Well, he LOVED them. He kept whining for more after eating 2 of them.I used 2 omega eggs and made 20-5inch cookies with a bone cookie cutter. Thank you for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Garlic is fine for dogs...just don't overdo it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
as far as the person saying garlic is unsafe for dogs- if you are worried about this, check out this site. it pretty much says garlic is safe (and even potentially beneficial) in small quantities, provided the dog doesn't have previous problems, doesn't eat too much of it and doesn't eat it too frequently. http://www.natural-dog-health-remedies.com/garlic-for-dogs.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
A healthy, medium sized dog would have to eat a whole 5-oz onion, or several cloves of garlic for it to be dangerous. These were a hit with my chihuahuas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
FIVE STARS!! I just made this recipe and my dogs love it! It is soo simple and basic that you can add your own ingredients, which I love. i only made a few adjustments to the recipe. I kept it in for about 35-40 minutes and I added a small piece of hotdog to the top about 15 minutes before they were done baking. For now I used bacon grease and added bacon bits to the mix. Maybe next time ill use peanut butter instead. Thats how flexible the recipe is. I am just going to continue experimenting until I find the perfect treat. Best homemade dog treat I've seen so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States