Doctor Bird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This is our all time family favorite. It is easy, and always delicious. We usually add extra banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I loved this cake. The pineapple was a great addition. It was so moist and easy. The only thing that I would watch is the time. Mine cooked in only 1 hour in my bundt pan and was perfect. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
"Awesome cake!" says hubby & kids. I've been baking 30+ yrs. and was delighted to find this recipe for a lighter version of traditional, heavy, oily banana-nut loaf. The pineapple (AND juice) is the secret ingredient here! I baked in 2 square pans and decreased time by 1/2 hr. to achieve thinner, cake-like crusting. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is an all-time favorite of my family for at least 30 years. It is moist and stays that way until it's gone. I prefer the tube pan. It makes a beautiful cake, doesn't require icing and the plate is scraped clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was great frosted with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Found it very bland while it was warm but it tasted quite good later when cold. Probably will make it again and serve it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I was looking for a moist banana cake and this one really fit the bill. I agree with another reviewer about the time necessary to bake it. I used a bundt pan and removed it from the oven after an hour. It is perfect. No need to frost or glaze this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
After all the great reviews I expected a great cake. Unfortunately mine came out really dry and boring. All you could taste were bananas even though I put in powdered ginger and allspice too. I even tried to doll it up with frosting (cream cheese frosting) and still didn't like it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This cake recipe was published in the news paper in the late 60s as the cake that would not last. Doctor Bird Cake was known for disappearing quickly as everyone loves this cake. Quick and easy this scratch cake became a standby answer to "What do I do with these over ripe bananas?" Keeping a couple cans of pineapple in the pantry, you are always ready to solve this problem deliciously. Even those who don't usually care for cake love this one. My adult kids (30 and 35 yr old) ate this their entire lives and still ask for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes but I definitely would cut back on the cooking time to 1 hr and recommend topping it. My preference is a glaze made from 3 T pineapple juice and powdered sugar. You can also just dust is with powdered sugar after it has cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States