Dobos Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Amazing. Time consuming but amazing. The caramel on top was a little thick, and I used around 3/4 of a cup of sugar. but it was still really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Made this cake for Thanksgiving and it was excellent. I will make this cake for major holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This cake is absolutely wonderful!!! Take the time to make the caramel topping because it really adds to the cake and the chocolate buttercream frosting is to die for. This is a very impressive cake. Great for a special occasion or the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made this recipe as a weekend project, and I am very glad I allotted so much time for it! However, I knew something this fancy would take a long time, and it was definitely worth it! Rich, creamy buttercream, and light, eggy cake! Don't even get me started on the caramel...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snow_Day_Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This worked out really, really well and was great! Being half Hungarian, I decided that I needed to master the Dobos Torte. This is the most comprehensive and well-written recipe I've been able to find (i.e. not assuming that you grew up making it and just needed a refresher). I have a few suggestions to make this easier for folks trying it - 1.) Be prepared the batter is THICK! I just used the bottom of the springform pan and spread the batter onto it - it was a lot easier and no burns taking the thing apart to quickly get the layer onto the cooling rack. The sides are not needed to keep the batter in and just got in the way. 2.) this made a tad too much caramel and people were peeling it off and setting it aside because it was too much to crunch through - it ended up being the thickness of brittle. I'll reduce by half next time so that it's more of a glaze. Thanks, Kevin! I owe you one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was not as hard as i thought it would be, but it was time consuming. I made this for my hungarian family and it was a huge hit. Everyone took a turn down memory lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
A bit time consuming to make and unhealthy as they come, but the result is stunning! Took it to a gathering and everyone loved it and brought home seconds. I cut the sugar in the buttercream to 3 cups, but it's still a little too sweet for me. Next time I will try 2 or 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
i loved this recipe the torte is soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSE90

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I finally had the chance to make this for my mum's birthday with great success. My family loved the "waffer-like" layers of cake. The chocolate buttercream frosting might seem too rich but trust me, it goes really well with the mild flavor of the cake. I'd recomend chilling the whole thing before serving and storing in the refrigerator (the frosting held up and tasted better cool/cold). I'd also recommened working on making the frosting and caramel toping while you bake the cake layers because this recipe takes quite a bit of time. Can't wait for an excuse to make this again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this for my Mom's 80th Birthday. She is a first generation Canadian, her parents are from Hungary. This went over with rave reviews!! I loved the experience of creating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom 2-3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States