Dobos Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This worked out really, really well and was great! Being half Hungarian, I decided that I needed to master the Dobos Torte. This is the most comprehensive and well-written recipe I've been able to find (i.e. not assuming that you grew up making it and just needed a refresher). I have a few suggestions to make this easier for folks trying it - 1.) Be prepared the batter is THICK! I just used the bottom of the springform pan and spread the batter onto it - it was a lot easier and no burns taking the thing apart to quickly get the layer onto the cooling rack. The sides are not needed to keep the batter in and just got in the way. 2.) this made a tad too much caramel and people were peeling it off and setting it aside because it was too much to crunch through - it ended up being the thickness of brittle. I'll reduce by half next time so that it's more of a glaze. Thanks, Kevin! I owe you one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
That was really good, but I am not certain that it tasted how I remembered it tasting back home. Two tips: (1) Instead of measuring batter layers as 1 1/3 cups each, separate the batter into 7 equal amounts to avoid problems with varying batter volume. I had trouble getting 7 layers out of the batter - only got 4 and a bit, 1 1/3 cup each as per the recipe. I used organic free-range eggs (denser, so less volume), which may have been the problem. (2) Make sure you pour the melted sugar over a *perfectly level* layer, or else it will just run down from it. This was a fairly annoying way for me to discover that the countertop is not quite level :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This torte is absolutely delicious. However, the recipe calls for icing sugar in the buttercream. The original recipe uses a cooked sugar syrup and egg yolks. I would give this one 5 stars had it not been named "Dobos".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I finally had the chance to make this for my mum's birthday with great success. My family loved the "waffer-like" layers of cake. The chocolate buttercream frosting might seem too rich but trust me, it goes really well with the mild flavor of the cake. I'd recomend chilling the whole thing before serving and storing in the refrigerator (the frosting held up and tasted better cool/cold). I'd also recommened working on making the frosting and caramel toping while you bake the cake layers because this recipe takes quite a bit of time. Can't wait for an excuse to make this again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made this recipe as a weekend project, and I am very glad I allotted so much time for it! However, I knew something this fancy would take a long time, and it was definitely worth it! Rich, creamy buttercream, and light, eggy cake! Don't even get me started on the caramel...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snow_Day_Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
A bit time consuming to make and unhealthy as they come, but the result is stunning! Took it to a gathering and everyone loved it and brought home seconds. I cut the sugar in the buttercream to 3 cups, but it's still a little too sweet for me. Next time I will try 2 or 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Amazing. Time consuming but amazing. The caramel on top was a little thick, and I used around 3/4 of a cup of sugar. but it was still really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This cake is absolutely wonderful!!! Take the time to make the caramel topping because it really adds to the cake and the chocolate buttercream frosting is to die for. This is a very impressive cake. Great for a special occasion or the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made this for my father-in-law who used to make a dobos torte. I followed this cake recipe to a "T" and it came out perfect. I used 9" pans that are just flat disks my in-law had made years ago. I put parchment paper on it before I poured batter. WOrked like a charm, when I took out of oven I flipped it onto a cookie sheet lined with more parchment paper and then you peel of paper and let cool...Cake tasted great and father-in-law LOVED it and said it was perfect! I did use a different chocolate buttercream frosting though...Oh, and I found if you use 1 1/4 dry measure cups of batter, you will get 6 cakes exactly. This recipe is SO easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
One of the most authentic recipes. But their are two problems: Dobos means drummer in Hungarian, not "like a drum" and please give us back Jozsef Dobos to us Hungarians, because we are very proud of him. And since he was born in Hungary and died in Hungary, and he had his pastry shop in Hungary, and he created Dobos Torte in Hungary, I assume this makes him Hungarian. Thank you very much,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States