Dobos Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Made this cake for Thanksgiving and it was excellent. I will make this cake for major holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This cake is absolutely wonderful!!! Take the time to make the caramel topping because it really adds to the cake and the chocolate buttercream frosting is to die for. This is a very impressive cake. Great for a special occasion or the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
this recipe was good, but as a hungarian myself, I must say the frosting was not what I have grown up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This worked out really, really well and was great! Being half Hungarian, I decided that I needed to master the Dobos Torte. This is the most comprehensive and well-written recipe I've been able to find (i.e. not assuming that you grew up making it and just needed a refresher). I have a few suggestions to make this easier for folks trying it - 1.) Be prepared the batter is THICK! I just used the bottom of the springform pan and spread the batter onto it - it was a lot easier and no burns taking the thing apart to quickly get the layer onto the cooling rack. The sides are not needed to keep the batter in and just got in the way. 2.) this made a tad too much caramel and people were peeling it off and setting it aside because it was too much to crunch through - it ended up being the thickness of brittle. I'll reduce by half next time so that it's more of a glaze. Thanks, Kevin! I owe you one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
A bit time consuming to make and unhealthy as they come, but the result is stunning! Took it to a gathering and everyone loved it and brought home seconds. I cut the sugar in the buttercream to 3 cups, but it's still a little too sweet for me. Next time I will try 2 or 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Amazing. Time consuming but amazing. The caramel on top was a little thick, and I used around 3/4 of a cup of sugar. but it was still really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
That was really good, but I am not certain that it tasted how I remembered it tasting back home. Two tips: (1) Instead of measuring batter layers as 1 1/3 cups each, separate the batter into 7 equal amounts to avoid problems with varying batter volume. I had trouble getting 7 layers out of the batter - only got 4 and a bit, 1 1/3 cup each as per the recipe. I used organic free-range eggs (denser, so less volume), which may have been the problem. (2) Make sure you pour the melted sugar over a *perfectly level* layer, or else it will just run down from it. This was a fairly annoying way for me to discover that the countertop is not quite level :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe was not an easy one but the results were impressive. I took it to a party where they were serving Hungarian foods. It was painstaking to bake each layer, cool off the pan and then make the next layer. It took me two days to make. I made the layers one night and then assembled it with the frosting the next day. It kept well in the fridg and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
i loved this recipe the torte is soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSE90

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This torte is absolutely delicious. However, the recipe calls for icing sugar in the buttercream. The original recipe uses a cooked sugar syrup and egg yolks. I would give this one 5 stars had it not been named "Dobos".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States