Dobos Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made this recipe as a weekend project, and I am very glad I allotted so much time for it! However, I knew something this fancy would take a long time, and it was definitely worth it! Rich, creamy buttercream, and light, eggy cake! Don't even get me started on the caramel...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snow_Day_Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I finally had the chance to make this for my mum's birthday with great success. My family loved the "waffer-like" layers of cake. The chocolate buttercream frosting might seem too rich but trust me, it goes really well with the mild flavor of the cake. I'd recomend chilling the whole thing before serving and storing in the refrigerator (the frosting held up and tasted better cool/cold). I'd also recommened working on making the frosting and caramel toping while you bake the cake layers because this recipe takes quite a bit of time. Can't wait for an excuse to make this again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was not as hard as i thought it would be, but it was time consuming. I made this for my hungarian family and it was a huge hit. Everyone took a turn down memory lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MANILOW_FAN
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I am in the process of baking this recipe right now. It certainly does not take just 1 hour 30 min. It took me 2.5 hours to just make the sponge cake layers, and there was not enough batter for a 6th layer (I am following the recipe to the T) I am sure it will turn out delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I made this cake years ago for my Hungarian father-in-laws 75th birthday party. Let me tell you, you better have a lot of free time on your hands cause this one takes a while! But it is worth it. My father-in-law said it was just like he remembered. The only caution I would give is to be careful with the cooked sugar layer. I made mine too thick and it was impossible to cut thru. We had to kind of hit it with the knife to break it. Next time I'd try to make a fine sugar straw instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This torte is absolutely delicious. However, the recipe calls for icing sugar in the buttercream. The original recipe uses a cooked sugar syrup and egg yolks. I would give this one 5 stars had it not been named "Dobos".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
i loved this recipe the torte is soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSE90

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This recipe was not an easy one but the results were impressive. I took it to a party where they were serving Hungarian foods. It was painstaking to bake each layer, cool off the pan and then make the next layer. It took me two days to make. I made the layers one night and then assembled it with the frosting the next day. It kept well in the fridg and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
That was really good, but I am not certain that it tasted how I remembered it tasting back home. Two tips: (1) Instead of measuring batter layers as 1 1/3 cups each, separate the batter into 7 equal amounts to avoid problems with varying batter volume. I had trouble getting 7 layers out of the batter - only got 4 and a bit, 1 1/3 cup each as per the recipe. I used organic free-range eggs (denser, so less volume), which may have been the problem. (2) Make sure you pour the melted sugar over a *perfectly level* layer, or else it will just run down from it. This was a fairly annoying way for me to discover that the countertop is not quite level :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sofia, Sofia City, Bulgaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
Amazing. Time consuming but amazing. The caramel on top was a little thick, and I used around 3/4 of a cup of sugar. but it was still really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States