Doberge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It was wonderful. I made changes to order of creation. I made my ganache first, followed by the custard. Both of these needed to cool down to room temperature before going on the cake. Then I prepped my cake and popped it in the oven. While the recipe says after 5 minutes cooling in pans to invert onto a cooling sheet, I found that tore up the bottom of my first cake. So with my next two cake pans I waited closer to 20 minutes before pulling out of the cake pan. They came out beautifully. While the cakes were cooking, I prepped the butter cream frosting. Once that was finished, I assembled the cake. I not only cut the cakes in half. I carefully cut off the rounded tops of two cakes in order to make my end result more aesthetically pleasing. DO NOT be afraid to use plenty of custard. I didn't use enough and way too much left over. When I applied the butter cream frosting, I had a hard time getting it smooth. I sprinkled a SMALL amount of hot water on the top and very carefully started to smooth out my frosting. It was excellent and amazing. Small slices go a long, long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This cake was great. My great-grandmother was friends with the inventor, Beulah Ledner, and she would've enjoyed this version. Yum. But prepare to spend a LOT of time on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
As someone else said, it is a labor of love. I thought there was too much cream in the ganache. Also, I ended up with extra custard, so that part should be cut down. The finished cake was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Definitely took several hrs prep but the result was worth it! There's a lot of sifting that took a while with my squeeze sifter. White cake layers were super light but yet held together well and didn't crumble when slicing in half and frosting. Would use just the cake layer for other dessert ideas. Expected the chocolate pudding to taste more chocolately based on other reviews. However, it seemed a bit bland and not very intense - I may have made an error there. I typically use all Green/Black's dark cocoa powder but this time used a mix of 1/2 Dutch process and 1/2 Green/Black's. The in-depth directions were helpful but do note for the cake batter step to beat butter sugar together, you should beat the butter to creamy first and then gradually beat in the sugar. I forgot to do that standard method and had to throw out the first attempt at beating the butter/sugar because it wouldn't break down into creamy. Would make again for a special occasion and try the rasberry add on from other reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe. I haven't made a cake for long time (other than box mix) this one will certainly go in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I grew up eating bakery made doberge cakes and never, ever thought to attempt to make one myself, but wanted a chocolate raspberry variation for my daughter's birthday last September, which local bakeries didn't have. I couldn't believe it when I found doberge on allrecipes!! So, made it myself using this recipe, and added a homemade raspberry sauce between the layers with the custard filling. Phenomenal! Well, I plan on making it a third time and remembered to review it and give a warning...don't use this ganache recipe. It did not work for me either time I made it...equal amounts chocolate and cream is way too runny...that's why I only gave it 4 stars. I found a recipe that uses 1 part cream to 2 parts chocolate. Also, give all your attention to the custard when making it...careful not to burn it or you will have to throw it out and start again(been there, done that). All and all well worth all the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I actually only used the icing recipe for a cake I made, I think I ate more frosting than what was put on the cake, you won't be disapointed, very rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Of the more complex layer cakes I've tried, this was the most simple, both in terms of ingredients and prep. The most challenging elements were: a) not burning the custard (it takes a looong time to thicken, so be patient) and b) not making a huge mess with the ganache when pouring it over the frosted cake. Taste-wise, it's great (and intensely sweet!), though a bit chocolate-heavy. Next time, I will try vanilla buttercream frosting instead of chocolate. It might be a nice contrast with the ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this for my mom's birthday, which fell during the week after Mardi Gras this year. The only warning I would give is DO NOT follow the recipe's means of checking the cake's doneness. Bake it until a toothpick inserted near the middle comes out clean. I lost one of my pans because of this, so the cake ended up with only 4 layers instead of 6. Also, I put strips of waxed paper under the cake as recommended, but they ended up being buried by the ganache, which was much too runny to spread, even after chilling for a few hours. I actually had to put the cake plate onto a pizza pan to catch the overflow. Other than that, it was delicious. I had (still have!) a ton of custard left over (partly because I had fewer layers, but even so, it seems like way too much), but it's being put to good use making parfaits with the salvageable bits of the unsuccessful cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have to say, end result was great! Best butter cake I've ever eaten! The frosting and ganache simple and easy...if you notice my photo...and see bits in them I totally and accidently tossed in Toffee Bits into the wrong bowl LOL...that's what I get for making 2 different sweet treats at the same time...Note to self not to do that. My only delimma was the custard. I had to make it a few times because I couldn't get it set up right. And when I did, the tbsp of vanilla was overpowering to me. SO a 3rd time, I made the custard and it set up, I only used a tsp of vanilla and followed through with completing the cake, really feel the custard issue was me and not the recipe but I was tickled when I got it to work. It was totally awesome. You only need to slice very thin slices for your kids and family. This cake goes a long way. It's rich, creamy and very delightful. I will soo make it again! TY metread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States