Doberge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
The ganache proportions are how I have always made ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
As someone else said, it is a labor of love. The recipe for GANACHE IS NOT ACCURATE, however, and should be corrected. Rather than 2 cups of cream, I think that 1/2 cup is correct! Also, there was too much custard, that should be cut down. The finished cake was delicious, but I wish the author of the recipe would make corrections!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Definitely took several hrs prep but the result was worth it! There's a lot of sifting that took a while with my squeeze sifter. White cake layers were super light but yet held together well and didn't crumble when slicing in half and frosting. Would use just the cake layer for other dessert ideas. Expected the chocolate pudding to taste more chocolately based on other reviews. However, it seemed a bit bland and not very intense - I may have made an error there. I typically use all Green/Black's dark cocoa powder but this time used a mix of 1/2 Dutch process and 1/2 Green/Black's. The in-depth directions were helpful but do note for the cake batter step to beat butter sugar together, you should beat the butter to creamy first and then gradually beat in the sugar. I forgot to do that standard method and had to throw out the first attempt at beating the butter/sugar because it wouldn't break down into creamy. Would make again for a special occasion and try the rasberry add on from other reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe. I haven't made a cake for long time (other than box mix) this one will certainly go in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I grew up eating bakery made doberge cakes and never, ever thought to attempt to make one myself, but wanted a chocolate raspberry variation for my daughter's birthday last September, which local bakeries didn't have. I couldn't believe it when I found doberge on allrecipes!! So, made it myself using this recipe, and added a homemade raspberry sauce between the layers with the custard filling. Phenomenal! Well, I plan on making it a third time and remembered to review it and give a warning...don't use this ganache recipe. It did not work for me either time I made it...equal amounts chocolate and cream is way too runny...that's why I only gave it 4 stars. I found a recipe that uses 1 part cream to 2 parts chocolate. Also, give all your attention to the custard when making it...careful not to burn it or you will have to throw it out and start again(been there, done that). All and all well worth all the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I actually only used the icing recipe for a cake I made, I think I ate more frosting than what was put on the cake, you won't be disapointed, very rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Of the more complex layer cakes I've tried, this was the most simple, both in terms of ingredients and prep. The most challenging elements were: a) not burning the custard (it takes a looong time to thicken, so be patient) and b) not making a huge mess with the ganache when pouring it over the frosted cake. Taste-wise, it's great (and intensely sweet!), though a bit chocolate-heavy. Next time, I will try vanilla buttercream frosting instead of chocolate. It might be a nice contrast with the ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this for my mom's birthday, which fell during the week after Mardi Gras this year. The only warning I would give is DO NOT follow the recipe's means of checking the cake's doneness. Bake it until a toothpick inserted near the middle comes out clean. I lost one of my pans because of this, so the cake ended up with only 4 layers instead of 6. Also, I put strips of waxed paper under the cake as recommended, but they ended up being buried by the ganache, which was much too runny to spread, even after chilling for a few hours. I actually had to put the cake plate onto a pizza pan to catch the overflow. Other than that, it was delicious. I had (still have!) a ton of custard left over (partly because I had fewer layers, but even so, it seems like way too much), but it's being put to good use making parfaits with the salvageable bits of the unsuccessful cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have to say, end result was great! Best butter cake I've ever eaten! The frosting and ganache simple and easy...if you notice my photo...and see bits in them I totally and accidently tossed in Toffee Bits into the wrong bowl LOL...that's what I get for making 2 different sweet treats at the same time...Note to self not to do that. My only delimma was the custard. I had to make it a few times because I couldn't get it set up right. And when I did, the tbsp of vanilla was overpowering to me. SO a 3rd time, I made the custard and it set up, I only used a tsp of vanilla and followed through with completing the cake, really feel the custard issue was me and not the recipe but I was tickled when I got it to work. It was totally awesome. You only need to slice very thin slices for your kids and family. This cake goes a long way. It's rich, creamy and very delightful. I will soo make it again! TY metread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Wow! This was a labor of love. I had a piece of this traditional cake years ago at Commanders Palace in Las Vegas. I had forgotten it until this recipe popped up here and I had to try it. I have to admit that I have gotten into the habit of using cake mixes to whip up a birthday cake or a batch of cupcakes but making this made me remember how superior a good "from scratch" cake can be.I decided to combine my birthday and the upcoming Mardis Gras and this was perfect. Every step and ingredient was spot on and the person who submitted this did a great job on their instructions. The only off thing was the 25 minute cook time. There are many steps to this beauty and it took far longer than 25 minutes listed in the recipe. I did make one small change to the method. Instead of baking three layers and splitting the layers, I baked 6 layers (for about 11 minutes) I poured about 1 cup+ into 9 inch pans that had been lined with parchment and baked the six layers separately. That is so much easier than splitting cakes for me. That being said, this cake is fabulous and I am sure that my friends and neighbors will request this for their birthdays. Thank you Metread for posting this beautiful & perfect recipe. This will go into my "very special" file :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States