Do-Ahead Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Turned out okay. Covered the whole time cooking, was afraid it would get dry. Something could of been added to it for a little more zing but overall liked making it the day before. It made the day a little easier to get everything ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I really love this recipe and have made it several times for Thanksgiving and Christmas. The flavors are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcupocoffee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I liked the seasonings in this recipe, except for the amount of salt. I would make this again, and add less salt. Taste the stuffing, before adding salt. Then, starting with a 1/2 teaspoon of salt add until you get the flavor you like. I think the saltiness is due to the chicken stock having so much sodium. Per other reviews, you may need to add more chicken stock, especially if you use dried bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The BEST stuffing ever. Made this for Thanksgiving as a first time recipe and it was a huge hit. I will use this recipe for years to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbk3x2x

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I cubed 10 pieces of white bread and 10 pieces of rye bread instead of the bread crumbs. Didn't even dry them and it turned out WONDERFUL! I also added some fresh mushrooms and carrots which gave it some color. I made it the day before, stuck it in the refrigerator, and it was so easy to just cook it the next day. You should bake it in a 9 x 13 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this recipe as written, with no changes or substitutions. It was great as a make-ahead dressing. Since my holiday meals are a pretty big production, I made this dressing 3 days in advance, which was wonderful. However, this is not the best dressing I've made. It's good, but I give it 5 stars because of the ability to make so far in advance - otherwise, it would be a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This dressing is dry. I had to add almost two cans of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Wow! I really impressed my in-laws with this recipe and all I did was follow the directions. I made this 2 separate times. One with homemade breadcrumbs and the other with store bought. The best outcome was when I took 2 loaves of bread, cubed them and dried them in the oven to make homemade breadcrumbs ( serving 16). I found that they soak up the liquid a lot more then the really dried store bought bread crumbs, allowing them to retained a lot more flavour. I did make this recipe 2 days before each dinner. It was the first dish to disappear. There were no left overs! This recipe made me look like a chef, when in reality I rarely have time to cook. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I love the fix ahead idea! I cooked my extra turkey yesterday and used this for dressing, made a day ahead. (didn't stuff the bird for the first time ever) I fiddled with amounts, personal preference. Eliminated the salt, reduced butter by half, cut poultry seasoning by half and upped sage to 2 t. I used 20 slices of oven dried whole wheat bread and only 1 1/2 c of the broth. I usually find casserole baked dressing dry and in need of a dousing with turkey drippings but this was not at all dry. I won't ever buy a bag of stuffing crumbs again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States